Mysore and around


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Mysore
November 18th 2013
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 12.314, 76.6759

Mysore is a bustling city which main tourist attraction is the Maharaja's Palace. Tom really wanting to see it so I waiting for him to arrive to go inside. Tom was due to arrive on Sunday but missed his flight in London so didn't make it to Mysore until Monday. So I went around the place on my own for a day. I even tried street food and survived.

Chamundi Hill: to get there I took the bus 201 from City bus station. It is about half an hour away, up a hill. The place was crowded with Indian tourist. I did not bother to queue to see inside the temple or to get a free darshan (the lines were too long). So I just stayed around the temple, watching people doing some rituals before going in. It was interesting even if I have no idea what was going on.

Rail museum: I went there because the Lonely Planet wrote 'this one is a real gem' and 'half a day of fun'. Well I don't know if they have ever been there or not but this was a big disappointment. There is not much to see and I went around in
half hour. If I were them I would rather write something along those lines 'if you have some time to kill while waiting for your train in Mysore, you can have a quick look at the rail museum (it's only 10 rupies)'.

Maharaja's Palace: the Palace is illuminated on week-end days from 7 to 8pm. It looks very impressive, and they even have a marching band. The Palace is rather recent. The building was finished in 1912, 15 years after the previous one burned down. Learning form experience they built the new palace in stones and not in wood. When you are a foreigner you pay your entrance fee about ten times higher than Indians (it seems to be the same all over India). However you get an audio guide ‘for free' and this was very much appreciated. It's full of interesting facts and not too long.

Devaraja market: very lively bazaar. Highly recommended. It's full of colours, with the paints, the flowers... We were shown how to make incenses and drawn on our hands. I really enjoyed walking around, overwhelmed by the colours and scents.

Mysore est une ville grouillante dont la principale attraction touristique est le Palace des Maharajas. Tom voulait
le visiter donc j'ai attendu son arrivée avant d'y rentrer. Il était censé arrivér Dimanche mais comme il a raté son avion à Londres il n'est arrivé que Lundi. J'ai donc visité la ville toute seule pendant une journée. J'ai même été assez courageuse pour manger dans la rue et je n'ai même pas été malade. Mon estomac tient bien le coup.

Chamundi Hill : pour m'y rendre, j'ai pris le bus 201. Depuis la station de bus prés du palais on est en haut de la montagne en une petite demi-heure. Une fois là haut, je me suis retrouvée au milieu d'une foule de touristes indiens. La file d'attente pour rentrer dans le temple était très longue et ne semblait pas bouger bien vite. Du coup, je me suis juste baladée autour du temple en regardant les gens faire les rituels avant d'y rentrer. Je n'y comprends rien mais c'est intéressant.

Musée du rail : j'y suis allée parce que la Lonely Planet a écrit ‘une perle' et ‘une demi-journée de fun assuré'. Je ne sais pas si je suis allée au mauvais endroit ou si eux n'y sont jamais allés mais j'en ai fait le tour en une
demi-heure et ce n'était vraiment pas intéressant. Si je devais écrire un commentaire je dirais ‘si vous avez une longue attente en gare de Mysore, vous pouvez aller faire un tour au musée du rail, c'est seulement 10 roupies l'entrée'.

Palais des Maharaja : le palais est illuminé les soirs du week end de 19h à 20h. Ça rend vraiment bien et ils ont même une fanfare qui fait le spectacle. C'est un palais récent, sa construction s'est achevée en 1912. C'est à dire 15 ans après que le précédent ait brulé. Du coup, celui-ci est en pierre et non en bois. En tant qu'étranger, on paye la visite 10 fois plus cher mais on a droit à un audio guide. On a bien fait de le prendre car il est bien fait et rend la visite bien plus intéressante.

Le marché Devaraja : c'est le souk. Les couleurs; les bruits et les odeurs se mélangent dans ce lieux fermé et entassé. On a pu voir comment fabriquer des encens. On s'est baladé au milieu de sacs de fleurs et de tas de poudres colorées. On nous a même fait un dessin sur la main. On s'est régalé.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb