Mission: Rescue Bella


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
January 14th 2014
Published: January 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

India is filled with stray dogs. I was prepared for that. But then I met Bella.

Bella was lying by the main road in our village, helpless and sick. He was severely malnourished, barely able to walk, and totally unloved. You could see his ribs ripple under his skin every time he breathed.

And nobody seemed to care. Everyone here would walk straight over him.

I have been trying to feed him milk and soft biscuits this past week, but he remained extremely weak and unresponsive. He made my heart break.

So last night I got in contact with Rakesh, the founder of Voice of Stray Dogs (http://www.strays.in/). Check out their website! They are a not-for-profit organisation that rescues and gives medical treatment to stray dogs, and helps rehabilitate them. They have animal ambulances, and qualified vets on staff. Rakesh confirmed that they could treat Bella. I now had a plan...

This morning I found Bella, lying by the road as usual (see the photo), and carefully lifted him into a box with a towel as a bed. I was so worried I would hurt him, he was so fragile.

Tracey and I then caught a bus and a rickshaw into Bangalore city, where the Voice of Stray Dogs has its office and shelter.

Rakesh, the founder came to meet me and Bella, and assured me that they would look after him! The vet said that Bella had a fever and an extremely low blood count, but they could help him!!!

I must admit I cried. I know that I cannot fix India's problems in a month, or even a village's problems. But you know what? I could solve this poor dogs problems. And thanks to Voice of Stray Dogs, I believe I did.

If you would like to follow Bella's progress, pop onto their website, and type in my email: sheree.venter@outlook.com

Also, if anyone is wondering, I named him Bella, because it means beautiful. When you look through the fleas and emancipation, you can see how beautiful he is.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Sleeping peacefullySleeping peacefully
Sleeping peacefully

Waiting to be treated at Voice of Stray Dogs
LegendsLegends
Legends

Thank you to Voice of Stray Dogs for taking Bella!


15th January 2014

You were brave Shwee
Well done on rescuing Bella! We can't change the world (or even India), but we can make a difference to the lives of others, one step at a time.......
15th January 2014

Hi Sussa, we've came home at 6pm today and after a shower & dinner, I could catch up on ALL your news. How amazing, but also challenging and very sad, what you are experiencing. I'm so proud of you - go for it my girl - to make a difference in one life, is far beter, than doing nothing. Bella, how cruel, but also how great of people to take care of these animals. Bless you for taking care of him! I'm so inspired to get more involved to help you and other to make a difference. We know it ask not much - drops fill a bucket and the ocean. Love you HEAPS!! Mum xx
21st January 2014

Good work!
I've just stumbled upon your blog, and loved this post on Bella. I haven't looked up Voice of Stray Dogs yet, but organisations like that are brilliant beyond words (Soi Dogs in Thailand and Dogstar in Sri Lanka do similar work). Looking forward to reading your other blogs :) Cheers Ren
21st January 2014

You have a kind heart
What a heart warming story. I'll check out the web site. Thanks for attempting to save Bella.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb