Cole, Coffee, Cascades and...Leaches?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and #3Me and #3Me and #3

swimming under this was amazing
Hey everyone,

Thank you guys so much for all of your comments. I love hearing the random stuff you guys add. I especially want to thank Ashish, if you are reading this. He is someone who found my blog through the internet and added a comment about my post. Ashish, your comments on Jainism and the Jain monument were very enlightening. I actually printed it off and shared it with my Indian Studies class. If you haven't seen what Ashish added go to diary=75050 and you can read the first comment listed. I highly recommend it.

To answer some questions asked:
-Yes, the steak was cow. It is not illegal to serve cow here it can just alienate you from a couple hundred million Hindu's.
-I'm sorry it is so hot there. Thats not my fault no need to hate.

Questions for y'all:
Uncle Kim: We are studying air pollution control while we are here. What do you guys use on your plants to curb your pollutants? ESP's, bag houses, wet scrubbers? Sorry that was so nerdy guys.

We are getting pretty used to the city. I wish I could tell you guys how to find out
Buddhist TempleBuddhist TempleBuddhist Temple

We stopped at Tibetan monestary on the way to the plantation. Here is the outside of one of the temples.
where we live on Google maps but I'm not sure I could do it on my own. I had coffee with some missionaries on Friday. Tony and Stephany Wood have been here four months and are planning to be here 3 years. Tony used to work at the BCM and at UBC. I felt like I was talking to myself, just 5 years from now.

This weekend was amazing. We went to an old coffee plantation in the mountains, south of Bangalore. The "road" up to the house was only jeep able which was awesome. Sunday morning we went on two hikes. One at sunrise. We were in a rainforest so we got a bit wet, but it was amazing. The first hike took us up this ridge that let us look down on a gorgeous valley and beautiful waterfall. Coffee plantations are notorious for having leaches in the rainy season. We found that a lighter was the best way to get them off.

After breakfast we had the owner draw us a map to a waterfall that wasn't on any of the other maps. It was a 3 km hike to it but it was amazing. We
Buddhist TempleBuddhist TempleBuddhist Temple

Inside the second temple we found these huge statues. Use the people below as a size reference.
took pictures at the base and then climbed to the top to see it from above. It was fun watching the people who had never hiked in their entire lives. Thanks mom and dad for letting me be a boy growing up. All that time spent in creeks and at National Parks paid off.

The owners son, Sharath, met us at the second waterfall with the jeep. He offered to give us a ride back instead of making the 3 click up hill trek. Instead of going straight back he took us to another waterfall a couple of miles away. He told us we could climb to the top but we found a trail that took us to the base. We all took our shoes off and waded out to a big rock that was in the middle of the stream. It was unreal. There were parts where you could stand and stay dry and others that would soak you to the bone. My friend and I decided since we were already wet, why not go swimming. So we did. I got all the way up under the falls. It was a once of a lifetime experience. I can't
Watch for bugsWatch for bugsWatch for bugs

To pass the time on an amazingly long bus trip, we started hangig our heads out the windows to watch stuff go by. Sure it was dangerous, but boredom can kill too.
believe we actually did it. I have found that the video feature on my camera is a better way to capture as much of the experience as possible, where ever I am. So lately some of the coolest stuff is on video, which isn't "uploadable" to this site. I'll just after show you guys the 2 minutes of me swimming at a later time.

Feel free to ask questions about what we are up to. Or if you would like to see more pictures of something just let me know. Can't wait to check your comments.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Waterfall #2Waterfall #2
Waterfall #2

This trek turned out to be best decision of the day. Isn't it beautiful.
View from the topView from the top
View from the top

Getting to the top was interesting for some but well worth it


24th July 2006

Beauty of Creation
I love going to places like your describing. Your making me jealous man. It is just an amazing worship experience when you can see God's creation not messed up by man and that is just a taste of what it will be like when we get to heaven. You rock bro. Laters
24th July 2006

Yay!
Cole, you sound like you are having so much fun! Those waterfalls are phenomenal. But, seriously, leaches? EWW! I hope your fun continues! When are you going back?
25th July 2006

Cole! Looks like you are having a lot of fun. Scott and I just got back from LA, which definitely isn't as exotic as India.
25th July 2006

Too Amazing!
I find it all so amazing - am speechless at some of your writings. The simplicity, the ornate, the majestic, and the cleanliness in all of your pictures. Even in such an impoverished country all people obviously take pride in their towns because it is amazing to see how clean the streets and sidewalks are in your pictures. Thanks for bringing this part of the world to me! Love, Aunt Janette
2nd August 2006

Nerd Answers
Looks like your having a great time. To answer your nerd question we use all types of pollution abatement equipment including ESP's, scubbers, activated carbon filters and catalytic converters. In the business area I'm in (plastics) we primarily use baghouses for removing dust / particulates and use flares to burn off hydrocarbon waste gases. OK, it sounds nerdy but isn't always. Today we inspected the tips of two 150 foot tall flares while they were in service by using a radio control helicopter equipped with a digital camera. The helicopter was flown around the flare and took over 100 photos in about 10 minutes. The digital photos will be processed and enhanced to determine the condition of flare tip and if maintenance will be required in the near future. So if your parents told you spending all your time flying RC aircraft and not studying would get you no where, they were wrong. Enjoy the trip.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb