finally coming to rest


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

the golden triangle

dehli is on top. agra is bottom right. jaipur is bottom left

Icebergs off of GreelandIcebergs off of GreelandIcebergs off of Greeland

While flying, we went over Greenland at 2:30 am local and the sun was out so we could see the ce flows near the coast.
Hey guys,

Well we are finally in Bangalore. Which means I'm no longer living out of my pack. This is the first time in a week I've sat at a computer for longer than 5 minutes. I'm going to try to update more than once this week to fill you all in everything we did last week. And man it was alot. I don't want to have a forty page entry that no one will read.

As an overview I'll fill you in and then get specific.

We arrived in Dehli Tuesday night on the 4th after a 14 hour flight. We spent the next two nights there and then headed off to Agra. Agra is home to the Taj Mahal. Friday we moved onto Jaipur where we stayed two nights. We closed the "Golden Triangle" by driving from Jaipur back to Dehli Sunday and then flying from there into Bangalore. Remember, there is 10 1/2 hour time difference from here to the central time zone. So I'm writing this at 1:45 Monday afternoon while you all sleep at 3:14 Monday morning.

As you can see there are many details to fill in. I'll try to limit
Me and the Qutib ManorMe and the Qutib ManorMe and the Qutib Manor

Check out the big tower!
today's stuff to Dehli and fill you in on everything else soon.

The correct term is Dehli. There is New Dehli and Old Dehli and they combine to make one big city. Old Dehli is 350 years old while New Dehli is only 200 years old. The first thing on the tour was a trip to Qutib Manor, a large tower and ancient mosque

From there we went to the largest mosque in India. It was really more like a large courtyard. There really wasn't a big room like I've seen at other mosques. Some little kids jumped into a picture I was taking of Marcus and then tried to charge us for taking their picture. The poverty is amazing here. I've been to third world countries before but these people are much more agressive than I've seen before. They will come and bang on our bus and try to open the windows to beg.

The coolest part of the day came next. Our guide hooked us up with a rickshaw ride through the Old Dehli market. The streets were tiny and there were people and shops everywhere. It reminded me of Morocco.

I can see
Me and the Jama MasjikMe and the Jama MasjikMe and the Jama Masjik

This is the big mosque I was telling you about. There is nothing through the gates behind me.
that this is getting long so I'll cut it off here. Hope you enjoy the photos. Please respond to these. I love hearing from you guys. And don't feel like it has to do with any of my stuff. I wanna hear updates from you guy.

Talk to ya soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Me and my skirtMe and my skirt
Me and my skirt

You couldn't have bear legs at the mosque to they made me wear this. The socks stayed on because the stones were hot.
stinking kidsstinking kids
stinking kids

these are the little con artists that tried to weasel money out of me for using them in the picture
Me on the rickshawMe on the rickshaw
Me on the rickshaw

how cool is this
Ghandi memorialGhandi memorial
Ghandi memorial

We went to the memorial in honor of Ghandi and all he did for the country. The memorial is in the place where he was cremated in Dehli after his assasination.


10th July 2006

Cole is Amazing!!
You have been to so many exciting places!! So jealous. The story about the kids is kind of funny, but kind of sad too. Looking forward to more updates!
10th July 2006

amazingness!
all your pictures look so fun! i'm way jealous that you get to go so many fun places!!! it was really good to see you at elizabeth's wedding, and meet your girlfriend! she's beautiful! but then i would expect nothing less of a stud like yourself. i'm looking forward to seeing and reading all about your adventures! bye!
11th July 2006

hey man, its good to hear your finally settled. i know how you feel about trying to update. you have so much else on your plate that updating people back home seems minor. well, this weekend we went to the island of capri and hiked up mt. vesuvius. check out facebook for pics. well, ill let you get back to reading other comments and having fun. ps. i know how you feel about the beggars too. theyre crazy!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb