Working in Bangalore


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
February 1st 2005
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

In February 2005, I spent a couple of weeks in Bangalore. This was my first trip and, although I was working, I did have two days in which I could do a little sightseeing.

The first of these was spent investigating the Lalbagh Gardens in Bangalore and the second, some 30 miles north, in the Nandi Hills.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Whitefield RoadWhitefield Road
Whitefield Road

This is the only place in the world I have been where there is such an immediate distinction between the rich and the poor. The well manicured lawns of the rich bordering the blue, plastic sheeting which housed the poor.
Lalbagh GardensLalbagh Gardens
Lalbagh Gardens

These gardens sit within Bangalore's city limits and are a popular place for locals to stroll. In February, during my visit, the temperature reached the low 40's and there had been little rain for some considerable time. However, it was cool under the trees.
Lalbagh GardensLalbagh Gardens
Lalbagh Gardens

Apparently, this was modelled on the Crystal Palace but to me looks more like the glass house from Kew Gardens, but without the walls.
Monkeys in the Nandi HillsMonkeys in the Nandi Hills
Monkeys in the Nandi Hills

At this point in time, monkeys were something I'd associated with zoological gardens. This was my first experience with them as feral animals.
View from the Nandi HillsView from the Nandi Hills
View from the Nandi Hills

The Nandi Hills are some 40 miles from Bangalore and are a Hill Station. Tipu Sultan built his summer retreat here in addition to a fort, the walls of which still stand. To one side stands Tipu's Drop. This 900 foot cliff is reputed to have seen the death of many a prisoner.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb