November 2006 - India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
November 12th 2006
Published: August 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Luxury HotelLuxury HotelLuxury Hotel

Based on Buckingham Palace
This is my second visit to India - with work. Unfortunately, not much time to see the sights as working UK hours, but breakfast at 08h00, then 45 mins in the garden of the hotel before a car arrives to take me to the office across the other side of the city of Bangalore.

There's no way I'd drive myself; there appears to be only one rule - I have right of way!

Each morning, the hour's drive (to do about 5 miles) had new sights, be it sacred cows in the road, buses stopping in the centre of the road, lorries coming the wrong way down streets, whatever, there was always a story to tell.

Really, the only free time was at the weekend when it was a case of taking a car into the city centre and browsing the shops.

Certainly, it was clear to see the difference between those who have and those who haven't. In all my travelling, I have never seen such a striking difference. Shops selling designer clothes frequented by very smartly dressed women in beautiful bright saris with beggars sitting outside.

Sunday was spent living unashamedly like the Raj! Beautiful hotel with a champagne Sunday lunch for R1500 - very expensive by Indian standards, but all you can eat for £15, including drinks is cheap, even by UK standards! I admit it, I did enjoy the luxury.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb