My Next to Last Weekend in Review


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
February 20th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sania and Mara at Sony Erricson Tennis MatchSania and Mara at Sony Erricson Tennis MatchSania and Mara at Sony Erricson Tennis Match

Photo taken by Matt (he gave me permission to use it) of Saturday's tennis match.
Filler blog. I've not got anything exciting to report.

I did get to go to the Women's Tennis semi-finals on Saturday. I guess that was pretty exciting. I went with two other Americans. Now I know why we are known as "Ugly Americans"--end of story.
The first Indian woman to play tennis was in the doubles match and there were quite a few people there to see her, considering this is tennis and this is Bangalore, or to quote a local friend, "Everyone in Bangalore hates tennis."

On Monday I wanted to go see an Indian film but the theater I went to didn't have one playing at the time I was available so I just went to see "Music and Lyrics" which is a reasonably cute movie.
The movie theater was awesome. I was told to see a movie at the PVR Gold Class Lounge at the Forum mall so that's where I went. At first I was less than impressed. I mean, the movie costs more for a matinee than most places in LA, about equivalent to the ArcLight. Plus I bought a food voucher worth about $3 US. At this point I was trying to figure
Sania Mirza at Sony Erricson Tennis MatchSania Mirza at Sony Erricson Tennis MatchSania Mirza at Sony Erricson Tennis Match

Photo taken by Matt (he gave me permission to use it) of Saturday\'s tennis match.
out what would make this movie matinee (of a US film no less) worth $13.00 US?
But then I got in and it was clear. First off, the Gold Class lounge has a separate space to hang out in, with a bar and a TV. Then you get into the theater itself and there are only 40 seats. All the seats were giant recliners. I kid you not. You can sit and watch a movie with less than 40 people and put your feet up in a plush chair. Then the waitstaff comes around and takes your food order. And they have real food, like sandwiches and salads and stuff. I ended up with hummus and a cold coffee.
An experience totally worth $13.00 US.

I guess it wasn't such an eventful weekend but it was fun. I only have one weekend left before I board my plane back to my friends and family and the cat who's probably forgotten me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb