Holiday Week


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
December 27th 2006
Published: December 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

No Good JamNo Good JamNo Good Jam

Great sign on Brigade
It's been a slow week at work. It's quite nice after that last couple weeks of complete mayhem. I was trying to organize my Outlook email but it's not working. Maybe that's a sign to take the day off. Nah, too many questions to answer.

Apparently there are a lot of parties going on in India this coming weekend, what with the New Year and all. It would've been smart of me to book something in Agra or Delhi about 2 months ago but since I didn't I think I will just settle for a relaxing Bangalore time. One that doesn't require crossing any major streets when the drunkest of the drivers are out.

Traffic here is insane. The only time of day you can find the streets not clogged with cars and trucks and motorcycles and bikes and pedestrians and carts and animals is early Sunday morning. I would guess maybe between 2 and 4 am also but since I'm always in bed by then I couldn't speak to it.

One of the things I miss about LA is the availability of 24 hour (or even late night/early morning hour) establishments. This city is alive and kicking
Bangalore from my CarBangalore from my CarBangalore from my Car

The drive to work
from about 10 am to 11pm. That's it. Finding coffee at 6am is next to impossible. And if you like hanging out in bars you usually have to vacate by 11:30pm. Many restaurants are only open for lunch hours and dinner hours and not a long stretch of time. The gas station seems to be open from about 7am to 11pm so that's nice. They usually sell bottled water. A large chunk of my money goes to bottled water.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Road to MysoreRoad to Mysore
Road to Mysore

Colorful cart
The GovtThe Govt
The Govt

Some government building


Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb