Varicella Zoster


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir
August 23rd 2005
Published: August 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! I had plans of my next entry being about the AMAZING time I'm having in India (and I am!), BUT, um...I've developed a case of shingles and I'm not much in the talking mood. Mom, don't freak out, I went to a doctor and got medication, but I am concerned because one of the complications of herpes zoster is Ramsay Hunt syndrome which involves the ear and can lead to deafness. THAT, I am seriously freaked out about. Since I know there a lot of medical students/doctors who are reading this, if you have any recommendations, I would greatly appreciate them. Even better, I'd appreciate some good thoughts my way. I do have my needles with me, but I don't know ear points yet, so if you recommend any of those (attn: Doc:-)) please describe where they are located.

Now a little of the good stuff:

I had a great first two days in New Delhi (very exciting--I'll give details later), and on the train up to Pathenkot, where I was going to stop on my way to Dharamsala, I met a beautiful family that invited me to stay with them for the day in Jammu (close to Kashmir). So I went there instead, and that's where I am now, thank God, because it would be a lot scarier trying to figure out the whole doctor, medicine, disease thing by myself. I will keep you posted! I think I'm going to try to catch a bus to Dharamsala tonight and then take it easy for a bit.

Lots of Love,
Jessica


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



23rd August 2005

Hope you are well
Hi Jess, Thanks for sharing your latest blog entry. I am glad, yes goshdarnit GLAD that you made it safe and sound into India. I hope that your stay thus far has been everything that you imagined it would be. Also, I hope that your case of shingles doesn't interfere with your stay in India and that you are able to contain it with Antiviral drugs and/or another safe alternative treatment with which you feel comfortable. Take care and be safe. Hope u feel better soon. abrazos. JUAN
23rd August 2005

Ear Points
Hi Jessica As far as ear points: Urticaria - on the external edge of the antihelix, parallel to the apex of the triangular fossa; Shen Men - slightly superior to the apex of the triangular fossa within the fossa (think eye of the fish head); Sympathtic Nervous System - at the juncture of the lower branch of the antihelix and helix, at the base line of the triangular fossa; and Heat Drain - two fen lateral to the apex of the triangular fossa on the antihelix. I would also use a draining or dispersing treatment on the meridian involved. There is a possibility that you may find a Chinese herbal shop. If so, Long Dan Xie Gan Tang would be my recommendation. Write me off list if you need anything else. I'm envious of your current travel. Doc
23rd August 2005

Hi, Hon!
I sent you a long e-mail this morning (so you can read that rather than my putting a bunch of stuff on the website, 'k?). I got your voice mail message and am eager to talk with you and find out how you're doing. Please phone at your earliest convenience, 'k? Love and love and more love to you, Mom
23rd August 2005

Good thoughts...
Hey Gorgeous! Wow - you are definately having an adventure aren't you? Sorry to hear about your last hurdle. Hey I know you will be fine and work out whatever you have to work out since that is what you do so well. Just so you know - you are in my thoughts and its all good! I am passing them along to you. Standing with you from afar...

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb