Kashmir


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Srinagar
March 12th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


A few days on a house boat with a couple of visits into the mountains. This included staying a night with the gypsies. Whilst a worthwhile experience, I have never been so pleased to see a shower or traditional toilet. For 2 days I kept eating and drinking to a minimum, so as to avoid the drop down toilet as much as possible! Will I cope?!


Whlist on the mountain trip I went on two seperate horse rides. As a non rider with poor balance this was daunting. Especially the first where the pony was led by a 5 year old girl, along narriow, often steep, footpaths with a long drop down (no, not the toilet type) the mountain on one side, and rocks on the other. I survived, and the 2nd experience was much better. On a proper horse and a proper road. I even managed to get a little confidence! Emma, get Freddy ready, I may be taking you up on those long promised riding lessons?

Generally there was an Army prescence on the roads, but no different to the old road blocks in Central London.



Photos To follow when I find the
My not so trusty steedMy not so trusty steedMy not so trusty steed

"hold on tight"
right I.T.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The proper horseThe proper horse
The proper horse

no I'm not just standing. Too may horse legs!
Sign at the top of the mountainSign at the top of the mountain
Sign at the top of the mountain

Any of your Boarders/skiers would love this. Not very good apres ski though?
Winter Wife/Indian Central HeatingWinter Wife/Indian Central Heating
Winter Wife/Indian Central Heating

at -5, it works well. Especially when you have to keep taking your shoes off.


12th March 2008

Whoo there!
Horse riding..... Mountaineering next on the list then? Get over the toilets woman! Well actually I suppose that's what you do..... stand over them...haha! No Deli Belly yet then? Off down the curry centre for a chicken koori, promised Giz he can have a little Vindaloo. :)
13th March 2008

Mountaineering
Did I not mention that I went to the top of the mountain opposite K2? Or does it happen to have the highest cable car in the world? Brrrr freezing
16th March 2008

Laughing !!!!
I am so impressed Flip flops, The thought of you is giving me giggles all day of you on that mule!!!! Dont you look just so comfy. Proud of you. Niknaksxxx
16th March 2008

Following your trip with great enthusiasm and sending you lots of love xxx very impressed with the horse riding!!!
18th March 2008

Ponies!
Very impressed with the horse riding!! Good to see what you've been up to, sounds like its all been a real experience. Looking forward to reading more. Take care. xx
26th March 2008

horse riding
Glad to see the horse is bigger than the mule in Ait Ben Addou
31st March 2008

horsing around
fortunately bigger, but I only had to go a few metres on that horse. I hope that picture is still in your safe hands!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb