India For Dummies


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Srinagar
September 11th 2007
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Belgium - Backpack PoliceBelgium - Backpack PoliceBelgium - Backpack Police

Having the unnecessary contents of my backpack filtered out by Rutger... ouch
Lesson 1: Trust nobody, not even tourist office people
Lesson 2: Trust nobody, no matter how friendly and caring they seem
Lesson 3: Stick to your plan


Yes, now that I am here, I hear that this is a common tourist trap. The guy in the tourist office (Imran is the name), convinced me that I would like to be in Srinagar, that I needed to get away from Delhi asap and I would find peace in Srinagar. Most people he booked want to stay longer than originally booked, he said... Ugh, I do feel like a dummy now. I booked a cheap flight to Srinagar, but the accomodation + food cost me 30 euros a day, while my planned day budget is only 25 euro. The excursions, Imran had so 'honestly' told me, are an extra cost, but I would be free to take the excursions or not. Yeah right. At the airport, all tourists have to sign a paper, saying with whom they are staying. So I wrote down the name of the hotel (The Holy Night Hotel - not so Holy mind you). Now the hotel says they are responsible for me because the government holds them
Belgium - SmurfyBelgium - SmurfyBelgium - Smurfy

Got to leave my HuggerSmurf here.... look how sad he is ... snif
responsible for me during my stay. I have no way of knowing to what degree this is true. In any case, I cannot leave the hotel without a "guide". Yes, it does feel safer to walk on the streets with a bodyguard, and they are friendly, no complaints there. But since I am not allowed to leave the hotel without a guard, I am virtually forced to take the excursions, otherwise I am stuck in the hotel. And the hotel, well, it's not exactly the place to have a good time. The room is absolutely basic (probably worth no more than 300 Rupees a night), the bed is no more than a plench with a cushon on it, the food is ok but nothing to write home about (I am sure it costs them less than 100 Rupees a day). Besides, I am the only tourist at the moment. I wonder if they do this on purpose, to make sure tourists don't talk amongst each other too much. I talked with a Brazilian guy a few days ago, he was not exactly happy either about the way everybody wants money from you. I have a new meaning for the abbreviation
Paris - Gulf AirParis - Gulf AirParis - Gulf Air

hostesses ... The blue scarf attached to the hat doesn't really hide anything. Waited for 7 hours in this area. This is taken an hour before departure... had nothing better to do.
WWW; Walking Wallet Woman.

But I do try to make the best of it, even though I worry about the budget issue now. I am spending double my day budget here. Yesterday I went to the "old city", went into some mosques, talked with some local people, ordered a custom made Kashmir style cotton pyjama. The little streets in the city are full of little shops, each around 4 square meters on average. Some selling western goods, but a lot selling the local food and manually crafted goods. And the crafts people do their work on the streets. I imagined it would have been similar in the middle ages in Europe. The big difference is the location and the culture of course. The surrounding mountains (the locals call them hills, but some are more than 3000m high) are just wonderful, and the valleys look like yellow velvet patchwork carpets. The culture is a mixture of Arabic and Indian and British influences. 90% of the people here are muslim, but I don't get the impression they are as fundamentalistic as we imagine them to be. The people I talked to mostly believe all religions believe in the same God, only we give our God different names. Surprised to hear that from muslims. Their religion rules their life however, they talk about nothing else (except money and how to get it from stupid tourists). Whatever they try to explain, they explain using Koran verses.

Today I am going to see the Moghul gardens, and tomorrow I am going on a trekking for 3 days (2 nights). They wanted to charge around 300 euro for that, I got it down to 100 euro now, but it still cuts a big hole in my wallet. I am sure all tourists have to learn a lesson like this soon or late, so perhaps I am lucky to learn it in the beginning.

btw: no abnormal bowel movements yet :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bahrein - Al Jazira HotelBahrein - Al Jazira Hotel
Bahrein - Al Jazira Hotel

Not where I stayed
Srinagar - My bodyguardSrinagar - My bodyguard
Srinagar - My bodyguard

His name is Shefi, he does have a good sense of humor and has good stories to tell. He is also the tailor who is now working on my Kashmir style pyjama.
Srinagar - ArchitectureSrinagar - Architecture
Srinagar - Architecture

Many of these houses are more than 300 years old
Srinagar - Mosque 2 woodworkSrinagar - Mosque 2 woodwork
Srinagar - Mosque 2 woodwork

the wood is cedar, over 700 years old
Srinagar - Burka HouseSrinagar - Burka House
Srinagar - Burka House

anyone want a souvenir ?
Srinagar - A Passage To IndiaSrinagar - A Passage To India
Srinagar - A Passage To India

Sjefi says this bridge was shown at the end of the movie... gotta check that sometime
Srinagar - Sjefi's work: PonchoSrinagar - Sjefi's work: Poncho
Srinagar - Sjefi's work: Poncho

A little publicity for Sjefi. I do have to say he is a good tailor, knows what colors to combine, and the leather he uses is the softest I have ever felt.
Srinagar - My bathroom (1)Srinagar - My bathroom (1)
Srinagar - My bathroom (1)

If I want hot water, I can have the cook bring a bucket.


11th September 2007

lol Sabrina, glad you're smoothing the aisle out for me ! I did read somewhere that the first thing you need to do in India is back of the toerist parcours by any means, that untill you succeed at that you ARE a WWW. *big smile*. Glad to hear you didn't get kidnapped so close to the muslim border! I got worried not seeing an entry from you yesterday. No, just kidding, i wish you a lot of fun and trekking will probably be beautifull! xxx Gaƫlle
11th September 2007

Foto's
Hi Sabrina, De langverwachte foto's! Ik kan niet kiezen voor mijn bureaublad. Zal moeten afwisselen. Let op je centen, op wat je eet en drinkt en geloof enkel in God en jezelf. De anderen bedoelen het niet zo slecht, maar ze zitten nu eenmaal in dat systeem. Knuffel, Christian
11th September 2007

stick to your plan ;-)
hi saske, leukje te zien in deze exotische kleding en omgeving, best grappig en grafe leuke foto's, toont hoe 'anders' het daar is en de rest van de toestand kunnen we d'er wel bijdenken hier dan, super denk ik met alle zuchten en troubles bijgenomen zelfs ... kleine hint, being a WWW, wees maar driedubbel hard in' t negociƫren ;-) ... lesson 4 : Stick to your budget ! ...grteetz en dikke knuffel van ivanneke xxxx
11th September 2007

ach....
Zoals je zelf merkte,vertrouwen is vaak ver te zoeken.k vind het heerlijk je verhalen te lezen en de foto's te bekijken.je komt er wel...dikke kus.
11th September 2007

www
ha ha - like you say perhaps you are learning early in your trip how to be an effecient tourist very evocative pictures - sounds like the adventure has well and truly begun :)
12th September 2007

Money doesn't matter today, but it sure will matter yesterday!
Heel leuk reisverslag, en ja, toffe foto's... (vooral die drie in de luchthaven vind ik super) Tsja dat je daar al van de allereerste dagen goe bij uw pietje gepakt word is al met al heel goe ;-), India het land waar je haast gratis leeft, maar jij kan de kok vragen om een vergeelde emmer warm water en dat kunnen wij niet! Ik kijk heel erg uit naar je volgende avonturen. (((warmke)))
21st October 2007

Knuffelsmurfje
Hello Brina-ey, I looks like you are having an interesting trip. Thanks for sending your blog address. I'll watch your adventures. Is the Smurfling staying with friends for the moment? knuffels from all of us here, Duaneture PS. There is no such word in english as "plench" PSS. lots more knuffels

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb