Day 16: Last Day in McLeod Ganj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
June 14th 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We had our last breakfast at Carpe Diem at 8. Then I went back hotel to pack while Elena went back hotel for her last conversation session with Sangmo. I finished packing and checked out at 11. We put our bags at hotel lobby. Then we went to do a little shopping in the town. I bought a bowl that produced sound as a result of its friction with a wooden stick, and a needle to weave. After that we went to Jimmy's for our last lunch in McLeod. We treated Rabsel there. I told Rabsel that I’ll be spending a week at Delhi after our travel because Elena’s flight is 1 week earlier than me, so Rabsel suggested that his nephew can bring me around Delhi and he gave me his number. I was glad that I won’t be alone in Delhi. After lunch, I went to the last computer class at LHA. When I was finished and about to leave LHA, the receptionist (Sonam) gave me a token of appreciation for being a volunteer. It was a scroll made of cloth that says I was a volunteer of LHA. She also gave me a white scarf and took a photo of me. Too bad I didn’t have a copy of the photo.

Then we quickly went out from LHA before our tears had chance to flow. I’m gonna miss LHA for sure. Great people, great opportunity, great cause. After that we went to Ibtida to take our custom-made stones and I refilled the credit of my simcard. Then we went back to hotel to take the bags and move them to Commonground, the café where Rabsel worked. Elena had dessert and I had noodle there. Then Rabsel brought our bags to nearest auto-rickshaw stand. On the way, Sangmo saw us and came to us to give a thread-made bracelet to both of us as a gift. I planned to give her my shoes but Rabsel had already put our bags in the auto-rickshaw and the auto-rickshaw is ready to go. I was so touched by Sangmo, she’s such a nice person. Everything happened so fast and in a few minutes we were already at the new temporary bus-stand near St. John church. We were early and the bus was late. Me and Elena took turn to go to the church while the other took care of the bags. Finally we bid farewell to Rabsel and McLeod Ganj when our bus left at 6.30pm.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb