McLeod Ganj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
May 14th 2008
Published: May 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Shanti Shanti
Well its my second last stop on the trip, I am here in McLeod Ganj home to the Dalai Lama.
The journey here all 16 hours of it was a nightmare, yet another local bus and yes I was the only traveller on the bus of Indian's. In general they were very nice but it does get a bit tiring being asked name and country by all and sundry. The road was terrifying, my rucksack was tied onto the roof and I was sure I was going to lose the lot, the road itself was trecherous so steep as it climbed further and further up the Himalya's, the drops to the side of the road were so steep with hairpin bends every 2 minutes, I tried really hard not to look out the window, just sitting in my seat, no sleeper beds available on local buses, so my ass suffered a great deal with the shake rattle and roll driving conditions.

I hated leaving Rishikesh it was great, it was such a peaceful place - the further north I go the less hassle from people begging and trying to sell you everything they have. It gets a bit tiring shopping all the time. Anyway Rishikesh was so hot it was quite a challenge to get arounf each day. I ended up going swimming in the Ganga, it was so cooling you felt fab afterwards. The water was really clean too as its so close to the source. I hated leaving the place and as I looked back from the rickshaw on my way to the bys station I honestly felt blessed that I had been there it was truly magical.

Anyway am here now and must say the cooler weather is a real treat, I had to use a blanket to sleep irt gets really cold at night so mush so I had to wear sock going out, imagine socks under the bikenstocks a really great look. My clothes are all in tatters from teh laundry service I feel like a bit if a hippie. Am stuck now in the internet cafe as the heavens have opened and its pouring, thunder and lightning too, will be soaked getting back to hotel, the rain is nice though almost forgot what it was like. Going to Dehli next week for last few days of shopping, am going to post all books to make room in rucksack its so hard to fit all the junk I bought in.

Food is mostly veg, but at least they have eggs here, nothing like that in Rishikesh, so am enjoying english breakfast every morning otherwise its generally tiebetan momo's
Met up with a guy from earlier in the trip which is fab so going to meet him now.
He'll keep me away from the shops.

Catch you all soon
peace and love
gxxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb