Day four in Mcleod Ganj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
October 16th 2005
Published: October 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick update for those who continue to travel with me (...thanks for the company!)

I have travelled to Mcleod Ganj which is a little more north than Amritsar and the farthest north in India my travels will take me. I really love this place and can see myself coming back here again. I am staying in a dorm of six and at less than 30 ruppee a night you really can't best it...and plus I am fortunate enough to have travelled here with a guy who plays his guitar and sings us simon and garfunkel before head...lucky me!

The feel here in town is different than that I have experienced yet. There are mountains around me (although nothing like that of the Everest Trek)...but the mountains are still incredibly beautiful. The air is cleaner and the place is just a lot more calmer. It is a small town rich in so many ways. the current residence of the Dalai Lama is here and with it a very large number of Tibetan refugees. So the mix of Indian and Tibetan is neat. I am far more aware than I ever was about the situation in Tibet and well...I encourage you to learn about it too. It is just so unjust that such a cultural rape still prevails today...the people are just lovely despite so much that has been taken away. I visited an exhibit yesterday at the the museum that looked at the lives of Gandhi and the Dalai Lama....boy am inspired...and then enraged...it was a great exhibit.

So later this morning I am taking a momo cooking class (tibet pocket like thing steamed or fried stuffed with either veggies or cheese or even sweet stuff...YUM!). I will need to figure out how I am getting to Jaisalmer...I can not wait!...I have heard a number of great things about this place!

Thanks again for the great emails...give me the scoop on your lives...
Teachers...don't let the IEPs get you down (although I am so happy I am not there for that)
Dragonesses!...hope training is going well...save a spot for me for when I get back!
Family...love you guys...but all is so good here...I am safe and happy.
Friends...can't wait to see you guys....and your babies and hear the scoop on your lives and what I am missing...

Please give Malcolm, Diego, Kalina, Abby, Emma, Brian and Adam, Maddox and Johnny and Gilly if your little one is here..boy or girl, and Matthew (yes your little one marianne) a big hug and kiss from me...shit I hope I didn't miss anyone....alright...big hugs and kisses to you all....the momos are a calling..ok....let me just leave you with this little momo story.

so the class that i am going to is called "Sangay's" ...I signed up in this book and this hot Tibetan guy with nice muscles comes and i just smile and say hi and sign up. So he just quickly asks me if i am taking the class...and i am like yeah (hoping the guy is in my class) so when i am leaving I ask him his name and say bye....LOL....his name is Sangay!!!!...LOL...so needless to say I am wearing a nice new shirt I bought in town the other day and i even took a shower (ok...well not for him...my hair really needed it...bburrrrr very cold shower)... ta ta folks....off to meet the teacher...what's that van halen song??!! hot for teacher??...

until next time, it's over to you

love ro
xox

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb