It Begins!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
March 26th 2007
Published: March 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



Untitled
Pete Laskey
After a decent night out in London I boarded my plane and headed off to india. Unfortunately I arrived in Deli at five in the morning and had to stay and find a hotel with half the city of try so sell me stuff. It hasn't changed much since the last time i visited and is still holds it's place as my lease favorite city on the planet. I managed to get a rickshaw to the red fort only to find it was closed every Monday (nice of my driver to point that out). I visited a huge mosque instead which was really beautiful but after spending another 20 minutes walking around being harrased every two seconds i headed for my hotel.

I took the train up to Shimla in himachal Pradesh's using the tiny toy train used by Michal Palin. Shimla was great but seems to be built on a cliff so that walking up to the hotel with a backpack was enough to induce a minor heart attack..... I met up with Camilla and Johanna from Norway and Sweden and when on a trek through the roadadendron forests for a day the hung around enjoying the npalce for a few more days.

On the way to Menali I saw weed growing everywhere I look I try to count to ten in between spotting hash plants on the drive up, I failed......... I also met Karamvir and his two brothers on the bus ride. he was telling me about a danish friend he had met when at hospital in Deli. It latter transpired the reason he was in hospital was that he'd accidentally shot someone in the stomach whilst helping is nephew celebrate his wedding. I managed to meet up then then in again in Menali and Daramashala he hasn''t shot me yet.........

Also met up with a Duch girl clare in McCloud gange who it turned out is a fellow music geek. after a few beers it strated to get close to midnight and i had to wake up a sleeping taxi driver to take me back to daramasala so i could catch my five oclock bus to Amritsar. the bus was late as usua;l but i spend an amusing hour trying to talk to a budist monk who bought me a cup of chai and who english was about as good as my tibetan.

Then moved on to Amritsar saw golden temple all very nice although the town is a bit of a oven baked dump. I hooked up with Johanna and camilla again and travelked down agra. to see teh taj. Johana tried to stat a toga party on the train not to many peopel seemed to want to join in but it was highly amusing.

Saw Taj its big white and made of stone........ also very expensive...saw Agra fought where half of india tried to take pitures of us. It may have had to had something to do with the two atractive scandinavian girls who where still following me at this point, but I suspset it was my perfectly bronzed, adonis like figure they where more interted in.

Alough defacing monuments by carving your name in them its still condided a crime, we managed to leave our mark on this beautifull mogal monument by leaving some very impressive sweaty arse prints all over it.





Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb