Kinaur: A Second Visit to Heaven


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Kinnaur
March 20th 2009
Published: March 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me & My dad in KinnaurMe & My dad in KinnaurMe & My dad in Kinnaur

the unforgetable memories
On an afternoon of March, 1984 I was born in the beautiful valley of Kinaur..the village was Kalpa.Kinnaur is the south eastern district of Himachal Pradesh...a Mountain region. Beyond Recong Peo, around 14 km from Powari is the former district headquarter of Kinnaur, Kalpa. Kalpa is located at an altitude of 2759 m and also offers some fantastic early morning views of the Kinner Kailash. According to legends, Kalpa is the winter abode of Shiva and all the god of Kinnaur assemble before him during this time for an annual conference. And when the supreme god himself seems to be so impressed by the beauty of Kalpa, how can human beings be far behind? So Kalpa has also managed to enchant many its human visitors.
So my dad who was a govt employee was posted there in Sangla valley. That valley was like a second paradise. Huge mountains, beautiful flowers,and temeperate trees like oak, chestnut, maple, birch, alder, magnolia, apple and apricot can be spotted easily there.
But suddenly my dad got transferred to another far place. And I didnt enjoy those beauties of nature. But time got turned and when I was 6-7 years old.We came back to Kinnaur for school vacations. We rented a house in Chansu, a village in Sangla valley and started our daily picnics & tours. My father is a writer, teacher and also a great nature lover. He used to take us to long walks and picnics around the mountains in valley.
here I am giving a picture of me and my dad in Kinnaur. I can never forget the fragrance of flowers that spread around the region. Those are huge, beautiful and clorful flowers and I never saw more pretty flowers anywhere after that.
Kinnaur is the place where I learnt to walk. Firstly I started walking on the hilly surface of Sangla valley, district Kinnaur. and Now when I was 6 years old I was there again. I was too happy to come there. The Apple orchirds used to enchant me.
My favorite place in district Kinnaur is Sangla Valley.This is one of the prettiest valleys of Kinnaur district. It is also known by the name of Baspa valley because the river Baspa flows through it. Natural attraction here include the magnificent views of the Kinner Kailash peak, wonderful saffron fields and relaxing alpine meadows. Other attraction in the valley include the Kamru Fort and the Kamakshi Temple. The former is the erstwhile bastion of the rajas of the Rampur and Bushehr State while the latter is the place where the coronation ceremony of these rajas were usually conducted. The idol in this temple was brought all the way from the Kamakhya Temple of Guwahati.

Sangla valley is also quiet perfect for those interested in adventure sports. Options for angling, river crossing, paragliding, trekking, bird watching and forest trails are available to enthuse you. Shopping in Sangla Valley is yet another attraction for you. Items ranging from colourful Kinnauri shawls, local tweed, woolen socks, silver jewelleries to Kinnaur's speciality, Golden Delicious' apples and chilgozhas are available. You can also pick up walnut, saffron and almonds which are comparitively cheaper here.
During our visits I caught many beautiful buterflies in Kinnaur valley, met numerous good, simple and honest people. I collected a lot of beautiful memories of my life and came back with my family. Those were the most memorable memories for me as I have never got a chance to visit that heaven again. But I still treasure those moments in my heart.


Advertisement



20th March 2009

Dekha tumhara kinaur. The best! Aur jaya ko jo batana hai jaldi bata do. Papa
18th September 2009

About Rakchham village
Rakchham village lies between sangla and chitkul, it is one of the most b'full place on earth.There is numerous place to visit.
23rd October 2009

Manisha/Romshi the nature princess
I read ur article and I imagined you as a little girl of 6-7. You look as graceful you r today. I can bet Kinnaur was beautiful because a bright twinkled girl was there!!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb