Meditation and a Wedding


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat
November 17th 2005
Published: November 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So much has gone on since my last entry. i am now in bhavnagar after finishing a 10 day vipassana meditation course in jaipur. that is right kids. meditation. me not talk for 10 days or look anyone in the eye. up at 4 and meditated for a total of 10 hours a day. by day six i went to my room and packed my bag and was ready to leave. all the crazy talk that was going on in my head was driving me mad...and then that night at the nightly discourse with goinka he totally described what i was feeling so i stayed. i was not going crazy althogh the rules of this place were a little much for me...but i think what doesn't kill you makes you stronger. i am so fucking strong now after that...lol...so post meditating i caught a bus from jaipur to ahmadabad and then to here...where i left the hotel at 1030 this morning (i twisted my ankle yesterday and it is all swollen so i didn't watn to push it too much today) and walked for 10 minutes and there , right there was a 10 piece marching band playing. yup! it is wedding season in india! two very friendly and eager to help me india guys helped me get to where i wanted to go and then insisted that i dance with them...and you know me and busting the move. so mamma danced in teh streets jumping up and down fingers pointing in the air. i am not sure if the crowds that came out to watch were watching me or the wedding...but later when i left the wedding seen hours later (!!!) all the shop owners on teh street that i passed while dancing were like "good dancing!!)...so it didn't end there. met a group on young and hip and english speaking family who invited me to stay and explained everything that was going on. the food was amazing and plenty! and the bride so beautiful. i have decided to go indian when i get married! they really known how to do it. gosh if my brother cries as much as the bridegroom (the bride in canada) does that would be amazing. the poor guy passed out at the end and was sobing uncontrollably as the bridegroom left to live with her new bride (groom in canada) and his parents
...so anyways ...a highlight for me...half way during the wedding while i am sitting there i spot them...they are here! i see them! i have heard about them and now...right there in saunters three euchns...i ddon't know what you call them but they are sort of like transvestites that come to give blessing and money...people igmore that they have arrived and i appear to be teh only one that is interested. i had read that they come to events and will not leave until they are given money. because they are not accepted my society...kinda like misfits i guess..the air was stiff when they arrived. so they left after gettting something...one girl called them "50-50". i thought that was kinda funny...so anyways...wedding was great!

and now in a few days i head to a beach in diu but not before seeing my ships in alang.. that is right ryan...i am going!!! i an a half an hour away...see...if you never showed me burtynsky i would not be going! thank you!

well the messages from you guys has dwindled. i imagine you are all busy....living the life i return to in 20 days!!! aaaayyyyyyaaaa!

i will sneak one or two email on here before then.

off to get some bananas and watch a movie in my room. i love that i have a tv in my room...and for under 6 bucks for the night it will do. it is not the greatest of places...but i love it! right in the market! this morning i watched cocktail. i didn't know it was so sad!...lol...

ok...much love to you all!

robena
xox

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb