Halloween and Diwali


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
October 31st 2005
Published: October 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

 Oh Steve-O! My favourite model... Oh Steve-O! My favourite model... Oh Steve-O! My favourite model...

So Steve and I were bored one night in Chitwan while all were asleep. Steve and I decided to do a little photoshoot. Needless to say I was having more fun than he...LOL...nice ass Steve!
Happy belated Halloween to you all! ...and Happy Diwali too!

I finished the last part of my Rajisthan tour with my fearless driver Santis-ji. I visited so many forts and castles and palace museums to last me a very long time. I am here in Jaipur to celebrate Diwali. Tomorrow is the big night as people wear new clothes and go out to shop for new things to start the new Hindu year...or something like that....it is the festival of light and it is really pretty amazing. People have lit these little candles in oil outside their homes and it is just so magical...all the sparkle. well it all ends when some four year old kid lights an Indian cheery bomb and throws it out in front of you! Talk about wake up call! ...and yeah...you heard me right....four year old. The whole children playing with fire is not so enforced here. But anways back to the whole getting new stuff on Diwali, I think it is probably a good reason for Indian woman to shop without having to explain why to their cheap ASS husbands.

So I just finished dinner with a couple from BC and have plans
Such sweet kids...Such sweet kids...Such sweet kids...

So here is a pic of me and the students at the school for blind I visited in Chitwan. It was a while ago and I don't have any new pics on disc to show...but here you go...girl on my right is ESL and teacher faces similar issues in her teaching...how lucky am I to have gone there, eh??
to meet another couple from BC to hang out with tomorrow. Today I have been feeling rather fevered and achy...how the hell doyou spell achy...it doesn't look right...anyways... so it has been a pretty slow day.

I saw a woman this morning that really bothered me. Hair all cut off and clean but wearing this torn nightgown walking barefoot with a flat affect...no smile....no awareness of what was going on around her. I still can't get her out of my head...off all the poverty and pretty unjust stuff I have seen here...this bothered me the most. I would love to know her story. I also had another very young girl about 4 grab my arm and not let go asking me to get her a chipati. The strength in that little girl was incredible. What I have been thinking of all day is why is thia bothering me now??...like it is not llike i didn't see it before....but it is all kinda hitting me... no one should have to live on the streets...

For my Accolade friends I took a special picture of a roadside "dentist". He had a display of the teeth he had extracted, the tools
Look at the shirt Steph!!!...Look at the shirt Steph!!!...Look at the shirt Steph!!!...

So here I am in Orcha getting my feet painted by the guy at the restaurant. I simply asked him why woman paint their feet and before you know it he had gone into his wife's stash and whipped up the dye to paint my toesies!
he uses and some medicine all neatly laid out below a blue tarp beside the fruit stand. The guy was weird and really, I think I would rather perform my own extraction....I can not wait to show it to you!...I thought about you guys when I took it.

So I am off of here...I hopeyou are all well. I will try to post a pic of a friend of mine...with his permission I will try to introduce you to Steve..Sweet Steve-O from Australia...if it doesn't post...sorry...I have tried getting my pic up here but I just couldn't.

Lots of Love
Raj Kumari Robena -ji... "Princess Robena"

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb