Getting Ready


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat » Ahmedabad
January 31st 2012
Published: January 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

2nd Saturday August 20112nd Saturday August 20112nd Saturday August 2011

Dr. Pathak and Kalika in our kitchen. That evening, we had 35 quests, including a French family with five teen-agers (they came to us through SERVAS)
Can it be less than 24 hours til take off? Still trying to figure out how many suitcases. I want to divide up the sewing kits (see Drummer Bill's blog) and books, etc. in case one of the suitcases disappears. So, that decision in the morning.

Decided that I had better "feed" my sourdough starter and freeze some of it because I just don't know if it wants to be untended for 31 days. So, the house smells great with English muffins.

How did this all happen??

Last August, our good friend, Dr. Ilaben Pathak visited our home in Woodbourne on her way home after being elected one of the four international vice presidents of the Women's International League of Peace and Freedom (WILPF). I explained that we live in the country, and she explained that she had seen NYC and Niagara Falls, and she wanted country. So, country is what she got. I took her to my Thursday morning quilt group and she visited several women and discussed quilting. It just happened to be a Red Hat luncheon day, so with nothing else to do, I suggested that we tag along.

I am sure that you
2nd Saturday August-20122nd Saturday August-20122nd Saturday August-2012

Dr. Ilaben Pathak
all have seen these luncheons...the conversation flows from cancer to PMS to children, grandchildren, the world's economy and more. As we left, Ilaben commented sadly, "In India, we women can never have such conversations. All women are alone."

When she returned to Ahmedabad, India, she emailed that she wanted me and Bill to come and "teach" quilting to women learning a trade through the Ahmedabad Women's Action Group (AWAG). I believe that most are survivors of domestic abuse. Bill & I consulted the calendar and February was clear, so arrangements were made. We are pretty sure that this is going to be quite an interesting experience since neither Bill nor I have ever taken a "how to" quilt class. However, he is a professional long armer and I quilt and I teach...therefore, we will have a class.

Advertisement



31st January 2012

Safe Travels and Happy Blogging!
Hi Marie - I hope you and Bill have safe travels while you are away - I'm sure it will be a wonderful experience. Of course I will subscribe to your travel blog! You could write a blog about traveling to the nearest gas station to fill up your car and it would be interesting! :-)

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb