Chalk and cheese


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat » Ahmedabad
February 4th 2006
Published: February 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


We just left Mount Abu which was absolutely beautiful. It was peaceful and calm and pretty much hassle free. We did a trek yesterday for 12 km / 5 hrs around the mountain and through the nature reserve. We saw monkeys, wild boar and lots of birds and found out loads about the local area. Our guide Charles was great and even invited us back to his house for a drop of rum and to listen to his bad danish music and generic chart dance (Saturday Night by Whigfield!). But we realised if we stayed much longer then we wouldn't leave!

It was quite strange being in Mount Abu mainly because its really a resort. Its kind of like Rhyl or Skeggy for Indian's. Peddalos on the lake, amusment arcade and ice cream shops on top of a mountain in the middle of the desert. But what this does mean is the westerners don't really get bothered too much, which was great for us after the week we had before.

But it had to come to an end and now we're in Ahmedabad waiting to catch an overnight bus to Mumbai. Admittedly I've not seen much of this city (just the drive through and a little walk about) but from what I can see its a bit of a hole. Very congested, very polluted and very dirty. This used to be the state capital of Gujarat but they move it up the road, I can see why. We messed this one up so lets have another go!

Well I could keep writing for ages but I can't spend all my trip in an internet cafe. Plus I need to go and get some food before our bus leaves. I'll let you know how my first journey on a "Sleeper" bus goes next time. I'll hazard a guess that I'll probably do very little sleeping but we'll see...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb