Walkathon


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat » Ahmedabad » Adalaj
February 12th 2012
Published: February 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Motif10th Annual WalkathonMotif10th Annual WalkathonMotif10th Annual Walkathon

Lots of sponsors and more than 49 lakhs rupees raised (I think that a lakh is 10,000)
Up early Sunday morning for the 10th annual Motif Walkathon to benefit selected charities. Motif is a call center company located here in Ahmedabad; one of its bigger clients is eBay. AWAG is one of the beneficiaries of this year's walk/run. AWAG is delighted with the extra funds for this year's budget.

Apparently, we were 7000 runners/walkers. Does it surprise you that the Ethiopian man and woman took first place running the 10K? No prizes for the 5K walkers, but I did manage to get on stage because I was one of the older participants. Now 12 hours later, I am pretty stiff, and I realize that IF I am to complete the Charleston, SC Cooper River Bridge Run the end of March, I had better get in some training.

BTW, I had forgotten that the AWAG women will also be completing the 9-patch quilt; in other words, they have 5, count them FIVE quilts to finish...Amazing.

We are off to Katmandu first thing in the morning. Bill's iPhone is responsible for the pictures. We forgot the cable for the camera that I am using, so we haven't been able to download any. Therefore, Drummer Bill has more
Camel pulling bandCamel pulling bandCamel pulling band

We saw a number of camels pulling carts with drummers and music to keep us inspire.
pictures posted than I do.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Ilaben & MarieIlaben & Marie
Ilaben & Marie

It wasn't as cold as Ilaben thought that it was! Some of the school children were walking, but others were dressed up!


12th February 2012

You go, girl!
Wow, Marie, you are my hero. All that walking! I love the camel pulling the band. We need that in Washington Square xox Peggy
20th February 2012
Camel pulling band

Enjoying all of the entries. Loved the camel picture and the pictures of the quilts. It is amazing what you have all been able to produce. And they're so beautiful. You've got a great story here. Anne

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb