Christmas in Goa


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Panaji
December 25th 2011
Published: December 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

MERRY CHRISTMAS

Spent a few days in Panji (panjim) the capital of Goa. Its much smaller than either Bombay or Poona and much more get aroundable. So even though its really hot I've been doing most of my site seeing on foot which I thought might keep me fit but I think its just wearing me out.

While on one of my wanders I came across a film unit shooting what I asume was one of the many Bollywood blockbusters they churn out. The police had closed off part of the road so they could get the very exciting jeep drives round the corner shot. I hung around for a while in case the director decided what he really need was the classic hot sweaty bewildered tourist trys to cross the road without getting run over shot. Unfortunatly the call to stardom never came so my dreams of Bolywood fame and fortune will have to wait a while.

One of the highlights of Panji was a restaurant serving Goan Pork vindaloo. Its not the really hot UK version but much cooler and sweeter and so nice I've had it three times now. While I was eating the first one there was a band in the corner knocking out traditional goan folk songs, found myself humming along wondering how it was that I knew Goan folk song tunes until I realised it was Roll out the Barrel!

I wasn't really sure what to do for Christmas so i've taken the easy option and headed a few miles north to the beach and Candolim and Calngute. Been here for about ten minutes when I saw my fourth traffic accident, this time a three motorbike pile up. India has one of the fastest growing populations on the planet which is suprising as they seem hell bent on killing each other on the roads.

I wake up most mornings with a bad back due to the Indian fetish for 1" thick rock hard matresses. I've got thicker blankets than that. My left side hurts as well, that might be the same thing or I could be about to lose a kidney. To balance that my right ear has become a feeding station for most of India's mossies. Apart from that healths in good order and after three weeks of nothing but curry I've only had to do an emergency underpants change once which is not bad going.

Theres a bit of a crimbo do on at the place i'm staying tonight so will go and see if that lives up to the managers sales pitch after that will wander off for a few beers. Hope you all have a great Christmas. Will update this early in the new year.

Not really decided yet but chances are I'll stay in this area untill after new year and then move on to Hampi.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb