Magical Mysore


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Mysore
January 6th 2012
Published: January 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

HAPPY NEW YEAR

Hope you all had a good one.

Since last time very little has happened. I spent some time over christmas and new year at a couple of beaches in Goa. It was OK but nothing special. Goa has a lot more people on package tours than elsewhere in India and because of that is alot more expensive and not very much differant than any other beach in the world. Also it dosn't really feel very Indian. To be fair though I did only go to one town and two beaches so probably didn't get a real feel for the place. I may pass back through on my way home so might give it another go then.

I had planned to go on to Hampi next but have changed my mind but I may pick it up on the way back.

From Goa I moved on to Bangalore for no other reason than it was on the way to Mysore. I was only there a day while I sorted out the move South. Picked up a moto richshaw to the bus station for which the bloke only wanted 30rps (25p) which I thought was a good deal as a quick scan of the map gave me the idea it was a fair old way. As it was it only took 10 mins so out I got to find that i'd been dropped at the place where you get the bus to the Mysore bus stand and not the bus to Mysore. I did a bit of muttering and swearing to myself as i didn't really want to be trundling across Bangalore at rush hour on a local bus. But after half an hour or so finanly got my Mysore bus.

Only been in Mysore for a day but already like it more than the other places i've been so far. Big Indian city's can grind you down after a bit due to the heat, overcrowding, awful traffic and noise. But even though Mysore is a fairly larg place (pop 800,000) it feels much more relaxed. Nowhere near as much traffic as elsewhere and some of it even makes the odd attempt to comply with the rules of the road. I got all confussed this morning when a car atcually stopped at a pedestrian crossing.

Did my normal leave the guest house this morning and then get hopelessly lost in the first five minutes, but that was OK gave me a chance to get the feel for the place. I found the Devaraja market an old semi covered bazar which kept me ammused for a couple of hours. I was going to go to the Maharaja's palace this afternoon but after all the exertions of the morning a small nap was in order after which it had closed! so will do it tommorow along with some other bits and bobs.

For now i'm off for something to eat (something i've been doing alot of the last month so much for the diet) the place I'm at has mutton masala on the go which smells lovely.

Until next time hope everyone is well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb