Going to the beach


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Panaji
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So we finished up our time in Bombay. Said goodbye to friends ( it is amazing the real connections you make with people in such a short time here). I found a wonderful shop which I will go back to in March and buy many cloths and things to import. I already did a little shopping even though I told myself I should wait. And now I'm paying for it as each little thing makes my bag heavier. We took a 12 hr. train ride south to Goa yesterday. I met a nice Indian family who insisted I sit with them, and that they feed me their home cooked food - fish, chickpeas, and chapati (a tortilla like bread). It was a long journey, and getting late, so we hopped off early in Panjim, the capital city. We had some trouble finding a hotel - they were all full, so after looking for some time, we splurged on a nice one ($17.00!). It had marble floors, cable TV, and a private bathroom with a hot shower (and even a glass elevator). There are mostly Christians here, rather than Hindus or Muslims. And it feels like one of the safest cities in India! We spent the morning finding food, a sheet for Andrea, and an internet cafe. We have been here over an hour, so I have to get going. We have an hour bus ride to Margao, then one more hr. To the station near Palolem Beach, where we can get a hut on stilts, go swimming, kick- back, and relax. Love & Blessings, Laura

Andrea's parents - She is thinking of you, she just visited a church, and loves how when you look up in the sky at night, the stars are reversed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb