Goa Beach


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Benaulim
February 13th 2008
Published: February 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

Panjim, capital of Goa, is SUCH an expensive place - and we had to fork out 40 pounds for one room for one night!!!! Never going back there again! After the ailine broke my bag is had been mega uncomfortable to carry and i am going to complain (maybe!). We have now given up hvaing three meals per day and only have two because of the cost and also I have been ill and so most of the time do not feel like eating! The afternoon in Panjim consisted of a trip to the ATM (to get out the millions we owed for the room!!!) and tea on the terrace - I have never woken up feeling so hungry!!!! Also there was much compaining about the cost etc in Panjim!

We checked out at 9 the next morning - my bag seemed much heavier than normal - which is probably true considering we were no longer wearing opur trackies or converse and had to carry these around. I feel a bit like a hermit crab!
We got a rickshaw to Old Goa with Bob and Fred - our newly named bags! Bob (mine) was very unwilling to fit into the rickshaw! We passed a church service - which reminded me that it was sunday - i never know what day or time it is anymore! I laughed at the fact that there was a massive church service going on and yet all the nuns were wandering around outside in the sun! Went and got a bus to Margao, and then a rickshaw to the station to get our tickets to Mumbai on friday! We think he overcharged us! hmmmm...
Yet another rickshaw took us down to the beach, where we stumbled along in the sand, bags on our backs, while all the other Tourists lay around sunning themselves. Embaressing.... NO!!!
Even though we had booked a place at Anthy's we decided to go for Cocohuts - a cheaper and more basic place ( however realistically it was because we couldnt find the other place and had no more energy!)
Cocohuts are literal woven bamboo huts, just big enough fro two beds and a shower, loo and sink! The afternoon was spent relaxing on the beach and I bought an ankle chain. During my first shower experience here, the water stopped when I was covered in soap and shampoo and i had to wait 15mins for the water to come back on! I was not best pleased and I think the owners of Cocohuts saw the side of me which I usually reserve for mum at home! I like to try at least to keep up the appearance that I am angelic!

The next day we walked up the beach where there are numerous places to eat, drink and / or stay. It was all much of a muchness and we walked back. We relaexed on the beach and walked into town mid afternoon to use the internet and buy provsions from the shop (sparkling water, apple juice, biscuits and conditioner - how ever did I think I could cope without that!!!???)
We had dinner at another place along the beach - not quite what we expected!

Yesterday was a pretty bad day - I was burnt and really sick all day, the final straw being when I threw up everything I had just eaten! I dont think my "Delhi Belly" stayed in Delhi! I spent the whole day inside, lying down, which cant have been too much fun for soph - but she was very supportive! We ordered so much water that day and today that they now make a joke about it every time they see us! it was finny the first couple of times but not 24 hours later!

I still feel a little ill today, but am much better than yesterday which is good! was able to keep down my breakfast and even walk up the beach and go in the sea! Pride and Prejudice is keeping me sane - I have nearly got through two books already! We have just walked into town and are going for dinner shortly at somewhere the Guidebook says is "the best food in town but most people have take-out as it is where all the local fishermen hang out and it can get pretty rawkus!!!

lovage xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



14th February 2008

glad the delhi belly is receding
finally and hope you are keeping your spirits up. Great to read all your news-and fun getting both your and Sophie's perspectives onthe same events! You have done so much in just 2 weeks-hard to believe it was less than 2 weeks when we saw you off! Take care Yvonne xxx
17th February 2008

great photos!
brilliant to see the range of stuff you are up to. India draws to a close for you now but more adventures ahead. Hopefully, no more poo on platforms!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb