(Very) Chilled Out


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Arambol
April 15th 2007
Published: April 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arambol BeachArambol BeachArambol Beach

Just another beach really.
People that I'd met along the way had told me I'd like Arambol - it was a bit more laid back, hippyish and less touristy than the rest of Goa. However, being the end of season (they were literally starting to pull down the huts and shacks), it was a little laid back even for me. The preferred activity seemed to be the usual baking on sun beds all day, though I found it a little more challenging to take myself off on walks - of the surrounding bush, adjacent beaches and even a nearby lagoon. I rather foolishly attempted all of this one hot day without any water, not intending to go so far, and found myself stumbling over a rocky headland in thongs, exhausted and dying of thirst (well I was pretty thirsty anyway). Once again, Indian generousity saved me, and I managed to get a bottle of water for free, promising to come back the next day and order up a storm from the generous man's beach shack.

The next day, I hired another scooter and did just that, as well as explore the northern section of the Goan coastline. Among my adventures this expedition were
Next Beach OverNext Beach OverNext Beach Over

The next beach and lagoon after a short walk around the headland.
picking up a local hitch-hiker (well he more kind of just jumped on the back of my when I slowed down to see what he was saying), being flagged down, told I was lost and given appropriate directions before I'd even realised I was lost (told you they're nice folk over this way) and checking out the filming of a commercial that I'd been offered a role as an extra in (but declined due to time constraints).

I also managed to hook up with some random people one night just in time to check out a pretty cool night market just south of Anjuna. This was heaps cooler than the Anjuna markets, with some pretty good stalls (I could have spent some money here had my lack of bag space not been an issue), a collection of bands and DJ's, good food and outdoor bars. It ended up being more of a party than a market, and quite the enjoyable night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Further Round...Further Round...
Further Round...

Following a maze of "paths" that you can just make out in this photo, I eventually came to the near-deserted Querim beach.
The King of Good TimesThe King of Good Times
The King of Good Times

Kingfischer beers and sunsets at the beach. Doesn't get much better than this.
Local Coconut CollectorLocal Coconut Collector
Local Coconut Collector

This guy must have been pushing 60 or 70, but he was up this rather tall tree every day.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb