Day 1 in Goa and yay for internet cafes...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Anjuna Beach
February 27th 2009
Published: February 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well here I am , arrived yesterday afternoon to a hot and sticky Goa, mad taxi drivers and dead looking dogs! Was very glad I pre-arranged my hotel and transfer, I was so tired and as it turned out the hotel was a hour from the airport so I wouldn't have coped with haggling and traipsing around looking for a room. After an hours kip I went to explore but forgot about it getting dark so quickly here so by the time I walked the length of the road it was too dark to see anything and see what was what so I headed back to the hotel. Seems to be all sorts here, was keeping my eye out for English speakers, but trust me to get chatting to the dodgy pissed geezer from Gilford!Seems he's been here a couple of months and has no intention of leaving and aswell as being pissed I reckon he was sampling the local wacky backy!
Slept quite well last night, considering, but did get the heebie jeebies after I spotted a ginormous fecking cockroach in my bathroom. I suppose I may get used to creepy crawlies but was glad that I was able to lock my bathroom door! ( wimp!!) There are no shortages of shops, bars , places to eat along this road. Found a nice place this morning and had coffee, srumbled eggs ( that's how they spelled it!) and potatoes for breakfast. Yummy!
So my mission for today is to find the beach and check out the guys paragliding, buy a bag and a skirt from the 'come look my shop' girls and find somewhere to stay tomorrow and Sunday night. The place I'm staying in now is about 950 Rs( @13 pounds ) a night, this apparently is mid range, the cheapest I have seen is about 200Rs (@ 3.50 ) According to my book there is a place up the road with nice rooms and loads of cats so I'll check that out first.
So there seems no shortage of internet cafes so plenty of opportunities to update you all with my goings on.

Messages for...
Jay: Tell Daddy ( and anyone else for that matter) that I'm getting text messages on my phone but cant send any till I get a new sim card. So still on my number for now.
So hope everyone is well...be in touch soon...Lxx

Advertisement



27th February 2009

Gald to hear from you . .
. . and that all is well. Cockroaches are something you are going to have to get used to and watch those cats don't scratch you !! Love Mam xxx

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb