Ashtanga is better than blogging.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Anjuna Beach
February 8th 2008
Published: February 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am so so sorry to all my loyal readers. I have been a slacking. It is just too nice and peaceful here to be sitting around blogging, but I will try in the few minutes I have before leaving to go to the beach and dinner. Yoga has been great-learning the Ashtanga primary series which is very similar to some yoga I have done before, but now I have to remember what to do. Today we had a led class which will definitely be helpful in going through my own practice. We practice at 7am and then have a techniques/meditation/breathing class in the evening from 4-6. the rest of the time is spent by the pool, reading, or running around goa. A few days ago i went to the anjuna market which was filled with lots of euro and israeli hippies. very interesting. the people harass you a lot to buy their 'very cheap, very good' items. bargaining became such a game. it reminded me of the ebay commercial that says its better when you win it. a lot of things i bought, it was really just about the challenge. by the end, i wasn't even sure if i wanted the things, but because you got them to more than 1/2 their price, you felt like you had to have it! there was one jewelery stand where the people werent harassing me so i was very happy to look at the earrings. then the worker came up behind me and touched my bum in a very not nice way. hmmm...not so happy about that. i then went up to my friend who was looking at earrings and said, ok we have to go. i did not make a scene as i should have, but it wasnt worth my effort. it was too bad, cause they did have some nice earrings. then as we were going to leave, a random stranger tried to stick something in my ear. ewwww. i thoguht he was telling me there was a bug on my head or something like the nice calm guy in vellore, but no-it turns out it is a ear cleaning scam that is all the rage in goa. yuck. (i was reminded of when an alien stuck his finger in bridget's ear at Mars2112-remember?). i would never let a stranger stick anything in my ear! besides being skanky, think of the balance disorder i'd have if he messed up. yuck!! is it weird that i was more skeeved out by the ear sticking episode then the bum rub? not sure!

today i headed down to the mapusa market which is a bit more authentic and local. there was a lot of food and some other stuff. i bought a sari to make a dress out of for my cousin's wedding right after i get back. i had to find one that would go with the only dressy shoes i have in NJ! i got a purpley/silvery one. now i have to find a tailor to make me a dress! hopefully it will work out! i've also bought some other stuff now that i am a champion bargainer!

there was a bit of a rat episode last night. i am not completely recovered so i can not share the story now. i did not exactly see it and we were outside, but still. i did jump on top of one of the managers of this place. oops. we were outside watching 'almost famous' and i could not continue watching which was sad because i love that movie!

we have this evening off so we are all heading out. i will be going with a bunch of people to the beach and then to a dinner. i have only been eating here because the food is so so so good! love that at yoga places everything is vegetarian!! they get the food from a market each day so it is all so fresh and healthy!

ok gotta get going---sorry about the delay in this blog. i was better when i was at a hospital and the alternative was treating more patients!! ok talk to you all soon!
sorry renee and jose for not getting your own email this time. you have to sacrifice the email for the blog. its just the way it is. and sorry tara for disapointing you in the disapearnce of my blog. i will try harder next time. bye bye!

Advertisement



8th February 2008

OH NO RAT
Hi Kim, Sounds like you are having a great time..but please don't elaborate on the rat story...I for one don't need any rat details...I am just starting to semi-forget (or I keep telling myself to forget) about my own mouse. Keep having fun, Love Aunt Debbie
8th February 2008

Happy Yoga Days
Hey girl...glad you are enjoying the yoga..you will need to teach us a few things when you get home! I start scuba this weekend, I am worried about being cold but oh well, glad to get it done with. Can't wait to see you in a month in the Hong Kong airport!!!
8th February 2008

Using your shoes
Kimmie: Haven't I taught you anything. When an aggresive indian man tries to grab your butt, or puts his finger in your ear, you are supposed to hit him in the head with your shoes. You are probably wearing flipflops, so it won't hurt much, but will scare him. You might be better off wearing stiletto's which would look very good with your sari. Dad
8th February 2008

ninja babay on the way
mommay, dadday had me in ninja preschool and i was so advanced in my fighting skills they graduated me early and i am a master ninja so dadday is sending me on a plane to kick that guy in the bumm and box the other ones ears up.. the nerve of some.. haven't they seen dirty dancing,"this is my space this is your space"? duh don't get in my space unless its myspace then you should request to be a friend.. i digress so i hope your shopping for some babay clothes cause dadday is lame and has me running around in diapers and flip flops and wifey beaters when we go somewheres nice and all but i don't think he gets the girly thing so well except he braids my hair witch is super coolio... i like yoga also and teach a babay class in the neighborhood cause i get that from you also... i get so much from you but dadday says my big heart is from you... my dancing skills and fighting skills come from him and he says my humor is a comination of both yous guys witch makes me a very dangerous ninja babay!!! hiyaw!! i'll see you but you won't see me cause i'm a ninja babay and i wouldn't be good if you saw me but i will take care of your rat problem also when i come to revenge your bumm and ear lobe cause i play the flute and will do a pide piper on the rats monkey butt... go yoga now mommay and relax. i'm on it.... love your babay ninja girl........
9th February 2008

tranquil kim
Hey Kimmy, Don't worry about blogging! Enjoy your journey! Oh, but I do want to see some pics of this portion of your journey... Your yoga program sounds cool and its neat that you've gotten to explore! Love you!
9th February 2008

Zen Kim
Hey Kim, Sounds like you're having an amazing trip and you would be almost to the zen stage if you didn't have so many rodent encounters to deal with. Miss you!! Kel
11th February 2008

WOW this yoga sounds great....but I would need someone to keep telling me what to do..and we dont want to hear rat details.. and remember you are the only one who is allowed to call us at all crazy hours of the morning...but only when you are away on the other end of the world...this doesn't work for when you are back in cal...love ya miss ya....MOM
16th March 2008

You can pick your friends, but not your friend's ears...
I had totally forgotten about that 2112 incident! I would encourage you to not be so judgemental however. I am now filled with regret at the tender loving alien I could have brought home...Tear.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb