Eaten Alive!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Bihar
November 23rd 2005
Published: November 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sup Everybody,

I'm visiting my aunt and uncle. They live in a small town in the middle of nowhere called Sundarnagar... It's a small town about 250 km from Kolkata. It's nuts - there's no running water, but they've got satellite TV and caller ID on the phone. And about a billion mosquitoes. Most of our days here are spent trying to not get bitten by them. They're everywhere. I've probably got about 25 bites all over. Not pleasant. I think they've got a thing for western blood.

Really, there isn't too much to do here. There are herds of water buffalo that walk in front of the yard every day. And there a bunch of kids that play cricket and light garbage on fire during the day. Apparently, they're not too big on school. The lifestyle's sooooo laidback. Shockingly, there are TONS of people here that are even lazier than me. I know, it's hard to believe.

People stare at my sis and me everywhere. I think they're in awe of my beauty ;-) Since we're brown, people assume we speak hindi . And we do to a certain extent, but not very well. So we end up doing a lot of smiling and nodding. But I'm used to that from my engineering classes.

By the way, I've had men here tell me that I have "a wonderful figure." That was a little freaky, but whatever.

I'm out. I'll try to get some pics up soon. Maybe next week. We're off to Kolkata on Friday, then we're gonna make a little trip to the beaches in Puri, then we're gonna go on a Tiger safari at the Sunderbans Tiger Camp. Can't wait. I'll try to not get eaten.



Advertisement



23rd November 2005

Figure Ey!
You have "Beautiful figure" EY!? i just wander why i didn't notice that :-))))))
28th November 2005

travel in sundarbon
Hi Parag, careful as you travel in sundarban, there is tiger everywhere and nothing foolhardy, listen to the stories on the tigers and how people fight everyday to stay alive there besides tigers , snakes and gharials are there

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb