At the Bodhi Tree


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Bihar » Bodh Gaya
February 14th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: under the bodhi tree 25 secs
Being at the Bodhi tree was an experience in the people. Thousands of monks and nuns and devotees everywhere in prayer. Hope I will be able to download the video I took. The chanting and praying at every available spot. Overwhelming with activity.

In the video you will see how we circled,clockwise, the outer parameter of the stupa. Below where the Bodhi tree is and the chanting monks there is hardly any space. We work our way down and sit under the Bodhi Tree. I root myself and feel what could be felt at this sacred spot. To my surprise the energy is not as strong as when with the relics. So many people also make it hard to be as relaxed as I could be.

I plant my energy in the ground and gather from the sky, like in our qigong practice and I have a realization that all the Earth is sacred. Not just this spot. What keeps this space is the beliefs,prayers and hope given to and by the people. I thought of my Mother, who is worried I will become a Buddhist.

If this were Jurusalem she would be in heaven. For others it might be Mecca. For me , it is just another place , made holy by people not the Earth itself. I went back again and again when the crowds had left. For me Taos has more natural Earth energy then here. What a surprise for me. It does not mean that this is not a holy site. I believe that it is. I just believe that it is the people who make it so.

All the more impressive of the Buddha's awakening. No need to be under a special tree, in a remote country. Insight can and does happen everywhere.


I was able to meet a holy man, thanks to JP. JP tells me by email to get in touch with a fellow who runs a store in Bodhgaya just outside the Bodhi Tree Stupa. His nickname is called " Medium." And that is what he is. He says it is to mimick the middle path as outlined by the Buddha. I know it is much more. I found his shop. He was not there. I asked to see him and his son goes and finds him. He brings me a chair and some Chai and we just sit. Not too much talking. I can feel heat again in my chest and arms. We sit. Eventually we begin to talk. He tells me he was born literaly under the boddhi tree and led the life of a beggar as an infant and child. Now he owns a few small businesses including a small Hotel. Life can surely be amazing.

The time spent with this peaceful old man was wonderful. He gave me a gift of a Mala or prayer bead.

He asked if I could come back again and we could talk more and to bring Annya. Events happened in such a way that we did not connect. He was unavailable and could not be reached when we went back to see him. Another small crisis with our cell phone not working took time away. Had to get as new simms card for the phone. We would be coming in late, after midnight on the next step of our journey to Jaipur and I had made arrangements thru phone to call hotel and taxi service on arrival. All info was stored on the phone. Anyway, did not get a chance to be with him again.

While waiting for him and after finding a simms card, foto copies of passport, two foto pictures and a local reference to get my phone working again I had another great adventure. There at the entrance to the Bodhi tree stupa was a group of young men playing hackey sack. They invited me to play as they saw me watching. What great joy. The hackey sack was like a big rubberband tied into an infinite loop. No one as good as Mike Hogan in the group and I did well. They called me Papa and I really enjoyed myself. What a treat.

A final note about Bodhgaya. Something is not right with the air here. The pollution is less then anywhere else we have stayed and coughing and sore throat, upper respitory infections everywhere. Read in a newspaper after we left that the Bodhi tree is being monitored because it is showing signs of stress. One thing that the report said was that the tree was suffering from high levels of Copper. That must what be in the air. You can taste it and sometimes there is a thin coat of some sand like material on surfaces.

Next stop Jaipur


Advertisement



17th February 2009

At the Bodhi Tree
What a great story. I am reminded of the book "An Autobiography of a Yogi" where the author keeps on trying to go to the Himalayas to find God and ends up meeting his guru only a few miles from his home, far from the romance and mystery of the mountains. Love, Jono
18th February 2009

Good to see you
I am glad to hear from you because now I know you are there safe. The video is not of a tree, but of a statue of Budha. I looked the tree up on Wikipedia and it resembles a tree I saw on my trip down south called the Angel Tree. Amazing sight to see. It sounds like you are having an interesting visit. I really enjoyed reading your blog. I've been doing some reflecting here myself and I'm trying to figure out how to simplify my life- but it seems there is always someone else to help, and I'm not good at saying no. I did ask the district to find a new home for Jia. After four months, she couldn't seem to figure out how to turn off the stove or close the back door behind her when she left home. They decided to send her back to China due to the problems she was having at the school as well. I am sad that what could have been such a great experience of exchanging cultures turned out to be such a terrible experience. I am wondering what causes so many people to place blame on others rather than taking ownership for their own actions. How can that be reversed? Safe travels and I hope to hear from you again soon!
18th February 2009

Hello from Cleveland, OH
Hi Richard, I have been following your blog and find it very interesting and informative. It sounds like you are having a very enlightening experience as you travel India. I also believe that insight can happen anywhere. Take care of yourself, eat well, rest often, and don't breathe too deeply. The air quality sounds just awful. It makes me appreciate the EPA standards we have here in the USA. Be safe! Your sister Jackie
18th February 2009

Cleveland Air far better then here in India
On the worst day of pollution in Clevelandin all of my living there could not compare to a good day here. The pollution is unbelievable. If we go out of doors we mostly cover our mouth and nose with a handkerchief Now India is making progress, especially in Delhi were the have banned all regular gas cars.
18th February 2009

Managing videos
Hey Amy, You are correct. I have downloaded the wrong image. Hopefully you will be able to see the correct one in this next download. What you are seeing is a video of a Buddha built by the Japanese Buddhist to honor Buddha here in Bodhgaya. Hope your life returns to normal soon. It is difficult having the best house guest for so long,little less one as absent minded as Jai appears to be. Love dad
18th February 2009

Looking in all the wonderful places
Yoganada has always inspired me and his Autobiography is one to recall. I am not a big devotee of anyone. I am beginning to understand that people are inspired by different aspects of their lifes. Some are fitted to have devotion for something, be it Buddha, Krishna,Jesus, Mohammad. Others are afflicted by the need for a Guru. For me I am most moved by my senses. What can I sense from a situation. Maybe it is from all the years studying Qi. I know what Qi feels like and I know when it is strong. This is what I have come to believe in. The qi of a person, a tree, a mountain, a lake. The qi is what organizes forces around it. Anyway, much love to you, dad
23rd February 2009

Great Insights
Hi Richard, I had a similar awareness when I was in Jerusalem. There were all sorts of religious groups with their rituals and devotions at the place where Jesus was supposed to have done something or other. It felt like "spiritual Disneyland". There was a lot more chi in shards of pottery I found beneath my feet at unnamed places. I think the most holy place is within the life we each have been given. I'm enjoying your insights about India. Love, Hannah
24th February 2009

Spiritual Disneyland
Spiritual Disneyland is a great way to describe the feeling. I had a chance to film all of these Tibetan Monks in rayer at the Bodhi Tree. And then they left and I filmed the mess that was left behind. Garbage and bottles and plastic. It makes me more Leary of any form of devotional prayer. All hept up at the moment and not taking responsibility afterwords. Richard

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb