Child Haven International: Kismapur Village


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
October 4th 2010
Published: October 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mother and Daughter LeavingMother and Daughter LeavingMother and Daughter Leaving

The main path leading out of the home
The silence of Kismapur village is eerie at night. Sometimes I hear crickets but often nothing. Every so often a pack of stray dogs wanders through and I can hear the howling. Its amazing how accustomed to noise we are. During the day it is different. Although there are simple cattle paths to the Child Haven orphanage, the path becomes quite busy during the day. People use the paths as shortcuts to get to work and home. There is a bustling little village that sits along side the highway nearby that is accessed via the paths. I see the same man herding his goats in the pasture adjacent to the home every other day. A herd of buffalo hang out and a family of pigs - I could do without the latter for fear of disease. Most people don’t eat pigs in India so they live a pretty “safe” life here, right along side the holy cow.

I have settled into a routine that starts at 5:15am with morning mantra and exercise (amazing watching the sunrise to yoga) and ends at 9pm with the children going to bed. In the evening after dinner, I study with a couple of the
Work Never Stops at Child HavenWork Never Stops at Child HavenWork Never Stops at Child Haven

Aunties cleaning cooking utensils.
older boys who are not that strong in English but want to practice and read. There are about 15 students here that are still studying at a Telegu school, the balance have been in local English schools for approximately 10 years and speak English quite well - of course the older children who have been in school longer speak better - the little ones who were raised their first years at home in Telegu, struggle a bit with English but will pick it up really quick in school. I have two rules for the kids who come to read, colour and draw in my room - English only and no fighting. I have zero tolerance for fighting and the children are starting to respect it quite well.

The annual Ganesh Festival ended and now we have another Festival approaching. It’s so true, India is a country of celebration and reverence. The children are off school for 10 days starting October 7th and most are going home to their families (some who are full orphans will stay here and others who are too poor for the family to handle feeding them for the entire time will stay.) Child Haven International
Hard at WorkHard at WorkHard at Work

Fixing a screen with simple needle and thread. Amazing how much improvising goes on here!
admits children with 3 basic criteria: full orphan, semi orphan (one parent has died) and poor and destitute. Most of the children are not eligible for adoption either because the parents do not want to give them up but want them to have a better life then they can provided or they do not have the proper paperwork in which to process an in country adoption. The family would have to consent and some don’t even know a single member of their family.
I am planning to take 14 of the older boys to an IMAX film this Saturday as it is a holiday to celebrate Gandhi’s birthday, normally the children have school 6 days per week. It will be quite painful for me as the film they want to see is Hindu. Anyone that knows me well knows that I can not even watch a full English movie without sleeping, but I look forward to the experience. A couple weeks back I took the older girls shopping and out for a really nice lunch at a fancy dancy spot with white linen. It was so nice to see them in this environment which was obviously a first. The lunch
Chilis at the MarketChilis at the MarketChilis at the Market

The local veg market....so much fun.
for 5 people cost $10 - unbelievable how inexpensive India is if you stay away from the tourist spots. The college age girls and boys are more accustomed to outings as many volunteers take the older children to the city for a special treat. When I asked the boys if they wanted to go the big museum here they groaned - they have been so many times - either with local donors or volunteers - so IMAX it is.

I have been venturing out quite a bit and on my own. I like the time out to get lost in streets and crowds. I keep my sunglasses on so that I don’t have to make eye contact with everyone staring at me….they are not used to seeing white girls in the two suburban towns that I go to…I am sure in the heart of Hyderabad it is more common. I personally have not seen another Caucasian person, in fact the only foreigner that I have seen is an Arab man who was at the Foreign Registration Office the same time I was. He is here to study computer engineering - him and about a million Indians!! This country is
Ganesh FestivalGanesh FestivalGanesh Festival

The statue of Ganesh that stayed at our home for 10 days during the annual festival.
poised to become an even greater world resource when it comes to software and IT, so much brain power here in math, sciences and computer studies.

Signing out....



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Bangle ShoppingBangle Shopping
Bangle Shopping

My first trip to the city and shopping for bangles, nail polish and hair accessories. The older girls love to dress up and take excellent care in their appearance. Fun
Morning Soya MilkMorning Soya Milk
Morning Soya Milk

Everyday we have soya milk produced with a special machine that was designed out of Ottawa, Canada. Amazing how easy it is to make and helps keep the children healthy.


4th October 2010
Morning Soya Milk

Always knew you were an amazing person. It must be so fulfilling to be over there. Stay happy and healthy.
4th October 2010

Fascinating India
Hi Christine, I can see by the smile in your face that you are in bliss. Joseph Campbell said, "Follow your bliss and doors will open where there were no doors." How true. Your experiences will colour the rest of your life, and the changes and impact you are having will continue long after you leave. I never stayed in the country side while in India, so noise, mayhem and constant activity was what I saw, and of course the traffic. It's a miracle there are not more accidents, it must be the "must have" accessory every driver has....a horn! Stay well. My thoughts are with you. Love, Eve
5th October 2010

Bravo
Hello Christine, Great reading your Blogs. BTW, having spent the first 22 years of my life in India, I can attest to the "sleeping-with-the-background-noise-as-lullaby" experience. When one leaves India for the first time, perhaps the most unsettling thing is the silence. Its amazing seeing you do the things you do. If any bright kid needs to go to university, and can't afford it, I'd be happy to be a sponsor. My dream is to put 10 deserving kids in India through college. One down, nine to go! Good luck, lots of blessings and happiness. Keep those sunglasses on...we Indians like staring :) Amrit
5th October 2010

What sweet memories
Christine, Your stories and pictures of familiar faces are bringing back sweet memories to me! I'm so happy for the children that you decided to go to Child Haven Hyderabad. They are so lucky to have you! You sound like you fit right in! Have the boys taught you to play cricket yet? I see you've been lured to Laad Bazar in the old city for bangles! It used to be one of my favourite spots in town! Did you accompany the boys to bid adieu to Ganesh when he got immersed in the Hussain Sagar Lake with the millions of other Ganeshes? I miss all the festivals. I hope you'll be there for Divali in November. Say hi to all the children from Sister Valencia. XOX
1st November 2010
Morning Soya Milk

PRECIOUS!
What does the milk taste like??

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb