Girl time


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
February 26th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Y'all,
Last night after dinner I wandered into Racheal's bedroom and ended up in slumber-party land. At one point Rev K stuck his head in and just smiled and shook his headas he backed away. The house is so hectic all the time that her bedroom is normally where she goes to get some respite. As Christina and I talked with her a handfull of girls 5-12 years old wandered in and found a place to sit. Christina had borrowed a very elaborate punjabi to wear and the girls wanted to see her. Before you know it joking around lead to playing hand games and teaching each other words and songs, that eventually led to being taught a dance routine by some of the girls on the dance worship team. You can only imagine the chaos of Christina and three or four girls dancing in a tiny bedroom to a cassette boom box full of modern indian christian dance music with the rest of us urging them on. We all went to bed very late.

This morning we filmed the dance troupe at the opening of the Pastor's conference taking place on the orphanage grounds. They were beautiful. As they filed off stage I took my camera mounted on a tripod out a side door open to a walkway between buildings. When I looked back, I discovered Christina was still filming, so I quickly set up from where I was. School was on holiday today so gradually a group of girls formed behind me, trying to get a glimps of the LCD monitor. I don't know what promted me to start, but I put my headphones on the first girl's ears and showed her how to move the tripod head and change the zoom. Very patiently all of the girls took a turn running the camera (with me VERY close by). Some were afraid to touch it, others were entranced by the sound, a few took filming very seriously and in a few minutes were able to follow the action. I had the camera on pause mostly because it turned out that we didn't need the footage. The girls quickly had my ruse figured out. So I let them record for a minute. Immediately they're countenance would change when the red "REC" warning came on the screen; they had serious work to do. Afterwards, I and my newly found assistants packed up to search for Christina.

We found her dancing with the junior high girls in the entrance/livingroom of the house. She had on one of their dresses and was moving quite well to the routine. They braided her hair like a schoolgirl and put on all of the jewelery they wear, then they danced some more while I filmed. Next we all took turns taking a million still photos, which inexplicately led to hand painting. Now my hands and feet are covered with bright red henna tatoos, and my toenails are painted purple. A first for me. The girls insisted that we learn telegu words and we were quizzed endlessly on everyone's name. Some of the ladies came in to share cofee and quiet things down a bit, we talked at length about dress practices and wedding rings, more girl talk.

Lunch was with sime very nice missionaries from the States. I caved in to eating with a fork, along with Vicky. Suprisingly it felt rather akward. I did pass on the dish of curry spiced mild for the visitors, it wold taste like gruel compared to the native spices we have gotten used to.

Now it is nap time. Later we are going to a village of a tanner's tribe twenty miles away to film an afterschool kid's program that IERF runs throughout the school year.
Later,
Sheryl


Advertisement



26th February 2007

What about the boys
Sounds like a real party with the girls, and a total disruption of the routine! What are all the boys doing while this is going on?
27th February 2007

Where were all the boys?
Hi Dave, purple nailpolish tends to scare away the boys. Christina's comment is "who cares?" But really, as far as I can tell males and females lead very seperated lives. I think it has a lot to do with Islamic and Hindu influences. The boys live and school in one area and the girls in another. I sometimes see them eating and playing together so I do not think it is a heavy handed rule so much as it is just the way things are done. Joseph has mostly girls, because girls are not frequently considered a family asset. They leave to join their husband's family and it costs a dowary to get rid of them. Joseph and his family do not believe that, nor does the church teach that, however Vicky related a story were on this visit a female active church member expressed her deep condolences on the arrival of his third daughter. We connected with the girls first, I am hoping we have opportunity to do the same with the fellas. Sheryl
28th February 2007

cool!
henna tattoos! awesome :) i would love to have my hands and feet covered in tattoos...
28th February 2007

Beautiful Nostalgia
I have finally gotten time to review your blogs. I have been busy going from San Antonio to here and electronic stores trying to get my new Laptop established with wireless etc. I really like my new PC. Anyway, to your blogs. I can rejoice with you for all the arrival attention and welcome you had. I had the same when I was there several years ago. I didn't tell you about it because I wanted it to be a surprise for you. It was sooooooo beautiful. Flowers, headbands, garlands around the neck, welcome songs, hugs, spotlights, etc. and all of it at midnight! The arrival of heads of states into other countries could not have any greater welcome. I remember gathering in Rachel's and Rev. K.'s room with many children coming in and chatting with us. Mom and Dad K. never objected and that was so impressive. The love factor was everywhere and permeated everything in the compound. Your pictures are marvelous and I truly enjoy seeing them because I remember the rooms where you are taking them. The children naturally are different, some are grown up and others have moved out. But the song goes on, praise the Lord! I know what you mean about conflicting arrangements because every appointment is at a distance and requires travel time to get there. It is good that you have two cameras so you can split up if necessary. Would you do me a favor? Please take a picture of the children I am teaching on the Internet so I can see them? I know that a couple have moved on but they have been replaced by others who know how to communicate in English well enough to understand what I am saying without a translator. I keep asking if they are understanding and they tell me they are. Thank you for the beautiful remembrances on this blog site. I'll talk with you again later. Lee
28th February 2007

Where is my comment?
I submitted a comment earlier today but I do not see it on the blog page. Where is it? I don't want to say the same thing again. So maybe you could tell me if I am not looking in the right place. Anyway, I wanted to submit a PS. Send me the photos in my email address and not on the blog pages. I would like to download them. Let me know if you do not see my comment I sent this morning. You can email me. Thanks, Lee

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb