Winning!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andaman & Nicobar Islands » Port Blair
January 28th 2013
Published: January 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My last entry I said I was going to a cricket match, India vs. England. Obvious choice was to cheer for India, so me and some fellow travelers bought coloured paint, Indian flags, etc. Putting paint on my face, and drawing an Indian flag on my arms (which I put on upside down..oops) and getting the cheap local tickets lead to the most fun possible! Probably a moment in my life I will never forget was when me and a Swedish girl walk into the stands, trying to find a seat. It was totally packed, and as we stood in the entrance, people started noticing us. As far as I could see to my left and right, people were looking. Not just a glance either. We both just froze for a moment. Never have I had that many people looking at me at one time! So, after an awkward moment, I decided to roll with it. I raised my arms and said "GO INDIA!". The response was overwhelming!! So many people stood and cheered and yelled, it was like India had just gotten a point or something.... Nope, just two average females walking in. Oh, and the best part was there was no place to stand or sit, but somehow they managed to squeeze and push to make room for us. After many offers, we started making our way to one section, and the whole area around where we sat all cheered because they got us to go sit with them. All this to say, that cricket game was so much fun (and some of the other male travelers had similar stories, so all the attention isn't completely based on my gender). India won the match 7 hours later! wooohoo!

Really, any live event is just such a blast and treat to be at. I ended up in Bangalore city for one night, which is a long story, but during the day, I went to the horse races. That was a surprise to find, but it was pretty fun! I bet a whopping $2 and won $3! Actually, that is quite a bit of money to me now, because that is how much an expensive lunch costs. It made me laugh, because I walked in and read a sign that said "Prize for best dressed man and woman"...I glanced around...hmm, I only see men. I for sure would NEVER make a best dressed list, even if I was the only female around. I think at that moment, I was in clothes that I had been in for at least 2 days, and had slept in. In my defence, I had been on the train all night, and whats the point of putting on clean clothes when you are dirty? If you can't beat it, just join it.

Oh here is a gross story for you... you can laugh or skip reading it if you want, but it was really disgusting, so I would like to share 😊 My faithful flip flops, which have been with me through 12 countries finally gave up last week. I dont know what the odds are of a flip flop breaking at the exact moment, so that my foot comes out of the sandal strap, and prompty lands in a FRESH WARM puddle of human urine. Whatever those odds are, they worked against me. That was so gross! Really, of all the times and places, it had to snap as I was walking and the puddle still had to be warm. You are welcome for that story...

As I write this, I am on an island which is only 150km from thailand/Myanmar. What? How did I end up here?! For one, I didn't even know this place existed before I arrived in India. It is a hidden gem (Andaman islands), and I imagine in 10 years, will be saturated with resorts and tourists. I was in Bangalore, and had booked another 12 hour train ride to head back to the north of India. I have been going back and forth as to what to do, where to go, etc. It was literally hours from my train leaving, and some divine intervention and zip, I hopped on a bus to the opposite side of India. I arrived in Chennai, and took a 2 hour flight, and now I am sitting on this island, and about to disappear for two weeks. There is no internet on the place I am heading, and after 4 months of hearing horns, yelling, dirt, moving from city to city ever other day, I am exhausted! I am still in a constant state of love/hate with India, but the moments I don't like, they sure drain you!

But then I think of when some friends and I took rickshaw up in the jungle and found a waterfall with no one else around. Fresh, clear water, and just paradise in the middle of no where. It is moments like that where India is so exciting, because there is still so much to discover and explore. I get emotional thinking back of how much I have seen and how very blessed I am to be here! I really try to embrace and fully live every day, even though I have to wipe some pee off my foot, it is still amazing to be alive

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb