Hello Hong Kong...and now Goodbye!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
January 13th 2017
Published: January 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Heyyyyy! I made it! I know you, me AND the Delta customer service team are all surprised!

My jet lag isn't so bad, but I did force myself up early and out as I only a 1.5 days ( really 1 day if you exclude all airport transit).
Here's my observations:
1) a whole lot of people live in Hong Kong (seriously does no one work during day? Why are you all out and about on a weekday??)
2) they do love their meat - I may become a vegetarian
3) consumerism, consumerism, consumerism - mainly name brand! At first I couldn't figure out what they sold in malls if they had all these night markets. Night markets = knock offs and EVERYTHING else; Malls /shopping centers = Gucci, Armani, etc etc
4) 7-11 at every corner (made me miss NJ / NY a bit )
5) double decker everything - not just buses, but the trams too. Seriously it said 16 person tram but it was double decker?!?

Finally a personal observation - sometimes I forget how fortune we are that rest of world accepts English as their 2nd language or tourist language or whatever. While depending on area the stores and restaurants don't have English descriptions everywhere so many places do even if the people running it don't understand English. This would also be why I ordered spring rolls and got veggie dumplings 😊

Until Thailand...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



13th January 2017

?
?
19th January 2017

WHOOP
Looks amazing! Ride those tuk tuks and get those foot massages girl!

Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb