Temples, foot massages and coconut water


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 15th 2017
Published: January 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

It's been 4 years since I've been to Asia and one big thing has changed. Free wifi is everywhere. There I was getting a foot massage (that is equivalent to about 4 bucks btw) and the parlor was giving their patrons free wifi! Every store and eating/drinking establishment offers it. And they proudly display it on their front door. It makes the tourist lifestyle simpler and a bit more connected (even if most people I now are asleep while I get my foot massage)!

Let's get back to the foot massage. I'm pretty sure my plane ticket will pay for itself in massages. What would be a 100-200 dollar massage in the US, costs about 4-6 dollars. And you still can't help yourself to see if the next place will cheaper. It's no wonder that I've barely been here 2 days, but already gotten 2 massages. I mean 4-6 bucks!! But there goes someone's crappy souvenir gift. Sorry (not sorry)!

There's an ease to Chaing Mai that wasn't there in Hong Kong. The obvious reason is the that Hong Kong is a big city, but I think it's that the tourist crowd is more visible. There's some comfort in seeing foreigners (mostly Europeans and Australians) mingling about getting their own massages and fresh coconut water.

I will continue with my tourist mornings and afternoon relaxation in this lovely city for a few more days. Until then enjoy some photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



16th January 2017

4 to 6 bucks ?!????
18th January 2017

Yes, I'm pretty sure I'm spending more money because I keep saying omg that is so cheap, let me have 5!!

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb