So Close!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
August 16th 2012
Published: August 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thankfully Charles seemed in a pretty good mood this morning, if ever I'm faced with a heartbroken eight year old again, I'll remember just to tell them to get a good night's sleep and everything wil be better in the morning! I must say their was some blatent flirting between Eric and Candy during my morning lesson though- everytime I shouted "crabs" (it was a lesson on Sea Life bot STI's incase you were worried), they started pinching one another and giggling as Mr Jealous Boots Charles watched on. We did have a slight incident when one girl insisted another had stolen her rubber, considering the said rubber was no bigger than my thumbnail and was absolutely wrecked anyway, I don't quite understand the big deal but I suppose my eight year old self would have been just as bothered, also I felt the said acussation was very unlikely considering the girls sat on opposite sides of the classroom and both claimed their sister had bought them the rubber yet neither of them could name their own sister. Seriously though, my class are just a bunch of telltales, the tiniest thing and they have their hands up to tell me what the others have done wrong; "missy, missy! He drank some water without asking." A) I really don't care, I don't understand why they need permission to drink water, I'd rather I didn't kill the class off one by one by dehydration. B) If you call me Missy one more time I'm going to slap you (I'm joking I promise, however tempting it is at times), call me miss, call be Abi, Miss Abi, even chase me round yelling teacher, teacher! (this is their preferred tactic) Please can we stop with the Missy- it sounds like a name my mum would use to tell me off as a child!

No disrespect to my class but Francis seems to have come up trumps again! I teach his class for the second lesson each morning, there is one girl who I think is autistic who I find quite difficult; she started crying yesterday in the lesson and I found out that this was because the girl next to her kept answering questions on her behalf and she didn't like it. Today in my sealife lesson (of course this means we all have to listen to "Under the Sea" and dance around preteding to be seaweed) she got really involved and was running around pretending to be various sea animals like the best of them. I thought I hated kids but this trip has definitely changed my mind; today during the lesson I realised that I had the biggest grin on my face as I was watching them really getting into my activities, my favourite boy in Francis' class (coincidently named Sam), was smiling so much whilst doing the best impression of an octopus that I've ever seen (granted I hadn't seen any before today). I remember my sixth form form tutor explaining to me why she went into teaching, I had scoffed at her reasoning at the time but today I completely understood what she had meant when she said there isn't a better feeling than seeing that somene is grateful to have learn something new from you. Sam also had a sneezing fit and managed to "sneeze" all his work from the table across the classroom which I found hilarious and also extremely adorable, the fact that he was so embarrassed and apologetic over the whole situation just made it even cuter. There's only one girl in that class who i don't particularly like; she's very intelligent but a huge suck up, she was correcting all the actions that people were making up for sea animals and it was getting really annoying but I shouldn't say much because I'm pretty sure I was exactly the same at her age! Maybe I just hate her because she asked me why I had so many "dots" and she said I looked about fifty because I had lines on my head..cheers.

I taught the same sea life lesson to the next class and they were a completely different kettle of fish; I think it's partially because it's the lesson before lunch and I was hungry and they are impatient and hungry but they just refuse to do anything I say. One boy sat almost crying because he didn't want to listen to my Little Mermaid clip and when I told them our activity some of the boys just started shouting "no,no!" Things got worse towards the end of the lesson when I literally had to content with half the class chanting "Tom and Jerry, Tom and Jerry!" I resisted for a while but then let them watch it for the last ten minutes as I just couldn't be bothered fighting them anymore! I don't really understand their obsession, I hate Tom and Jerry with a passion! Francis' class again win on this front, we have to have a fifteen minute film break during that lesson and they chose Toy Story, much to mine and Kat's delight!

I sat with my class during lunchtime as I felt quite bad that no one was there with them also, I really think they should have someone checking what they are eating; the majority of my class threw their school lunches straight in the bin without even opening them! On a lighter note, they all asked what I was eating and seemed quite impressed that I was eating (without any problems may I add) with chopsticks, they also asked if I was Japanese because I was eating Udon which I thought was hilarious.

Drama was spent practising our play "The Gingerbread Man"; they decided that they wanted to do this story but we gave it a modern twist to involve Snow White, Ben Ten and Ben Nine, the Pink Panther, Purple Panther and the Angry Birds (the blue one and the black one). They can't stand in a straight like without running off for more than two minutes so we came up with the genius idea of giving them all chairs and they have to pretend that they have been glued to them, this also means they are close enough to be able to read their lines on the floor (blatent cheating on my behalf but they can't even read their lines, let alone say them). The first run through was shocking but, bribed with a video, the second run through went quite well and they did look pretty cute holding up their gingerbread men puppets and shouting "run, run as fast as you can, you can't catch me I'm the Gingerbread Man!" One smartie pants had told me that we should change it to "gingerbread people" considering they are all holding up a gingerbread man but, although technically correct, I decided this was too much effort and told him that the teacher is always right... TBC

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb