Love Hurts


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
August 15th 2012
Published: August 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The tale of Charles and Candy; today I had my first experience of a heartbroken eight year old. As we were all bored of our usual afternoon events, we decided to take a leaf out of Josh’s teams book and run a song contest, I decided that my class were going to perform “wouldn’t it be nice” by the Beachboys, half because I like the song and half because I thought they would just sound adorable singing it! Anyway, that’s just to put the whole situation in context, what happened next was pretty unexpected; I put them into boy girl partners to do a dance which, although they were slightly immature about it at first, they coped surprisingly well with. After having practiced our dance a few times, one of the boys asked if they could choose their own partners, as this was a reasonable request, I made the fatal error of agreeing. Another boy in my class, Charles, really wanted to work with Candy, he chased her round the classroom shouting, “her, her, I want her!” Then Eric had also taken a shine to Candy and they were like wild animals practically trying to pull her in half! I then made everyone sit down and asked Candy to work with Charles, she refused. I then asked her to work with Eric which she also refused, I pleaded with her to work with Charles (they are two of my best students) but she wasn’t having any of it. At this point Charles stormed out the classroom in tears, I followed him down the corridor trying to decide whether I want to laugh or cry (I decided on quietly giggling at the time but definitely felt like crying as the situation progressed.) <span> Charles was round the corner from the class absolutely crying his little eyes out; he is usually the most enthusiastic member of the class so this was extremely out of character. I managed to persuade him back into the classroom but nothing would stop his crying, not even the prospect of getting to hold the microphone on the <span> tage! Considering the whole saga began at 2.20pm and he was still snivelling when they went home at 4pm, I think he was pretty heartbroken! I hope he mans up and gets over it by tomorrow as he has one of the main parts in our (bound to be disastrous) play! But if he’s not, any suggestions?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb