A Perfect Day in Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
May 26th 2012
Published: June 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This photo makes me laugh.This photo makes me laugh.This photo makes me laugh.

Modeling with the menu.
This trip to HK is different from most. When Dylan announced he was moving back to the US in June, I knew we had to do something special for our last time together until who-knows-when. A trip to HK seemed the perfect plan for our last hurrah as a group.

Toni, Dylan, and I met around 10am at the border in SZ. We crossed with no problems and decided on our plan. First up, of course, was eating. Dylan suggested we go to a 24-hour breakfast place that he and I both love; I actually eat brunch there everytime I visit the city. Toni had never been, so it was the perfect start to the day.

After eating too much and continuously talking about how good the food was, we wandered a bit around Central before making it to the ferry pier. We took the ferry across the harbor, all the while Dylan spontaniously singing his newest rendition of "The Wheels on the Bus" with lyrics for riding the ferry boat. Only he could make that work.

We took in the view of the skyline and took photos, like any other tourists, all while dodging several mainland tour groups. The weather was just perfect.

Toni and I wanted to see the Lyuba exhibit at the science museum. Lyuba is a 40000 or so year old baby woolly mammoth that's making a world tour. Right now, she happens to be visiting Hong Kong. The exhibit was quite informative and seeing the woolly mammoth was amazing. Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I'd see a baby woolly mammoth! The exhibit wasn't very large, though, so that left us with time to either see the museum or go out for proper drinks.

We wandered some more and found a nice little bar that was offereing happy hour prices. I got two Guinnesses for the price of one, so I was pretty happy! We took a variety of photos of each other and got our server to take a few shots of us as a group. Lots of laughter, stories, people watching, and China-talk happened over those drinks.

We decided to have dinner before heading back. Last Oct I introduced Dylan to a place I know that actually has lasagna. It was all he could think of. So that's where we went. Big portions and large waters with a view to envy (the harbor) made it a perfect dinner.

We walked a bit, taking it all in one last time. I know I'll be back, but I know it won't be with Dylan or Toni. It was a bittersweet, perfect day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

I'm not on the mainland anymoreI'm not on the mainland anymore
I'm not on the mainland anymore

Poached eggs on English muffins with fresh avocado and spicy salsa, topped with Hollandaise sauce, with two sides and bottomless coffee.
Real furReal fur
Real fur

Lyuba, The Woolly Mammoth
I have GuinnessI have Guinness
I have Guinness

What else is there?


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb