Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
December 21st 2010
Published: December 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is my favourite place of the whole trip so far and I would be very happy if I got to live here one day!!! It has everything – tonnes and tonnes of shops, warm weather, beaches, skyscrapers, lots of people, loads of restaurants and it’s not hugely expensive either. It’s so hard to sum up this place in a couple of paragraphs but I’ve had the best time here - we even did a pub quiz in the Irish bar, although we did come in last place.

Days in Hong Kong were spent travelling on the hugely efficient metro and walking round the streets staring at the massive, super shiny buildings and nights were spent watching the city really come to life with neon signs overtaking every street, bars full of expats in Lan Kwai Fong and shops open until 11pm.

I visited Lantau Island as well, taking a 25 minute cable car ride up in to the mountains to see the biggest outdoor Buddha in the world. It was good to see, but it’s also where I met a weird old man who told me that he was lonely as both his wife and girlfriend had died and that he’d just spent the last 2 weeks getting to know a Philippine girl he’d met on the internet – I couldn’t run down the 250 steps back to the bottom of the Buddha statue fast enough!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb