Day 3 - Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
December 4th 2009
Published: October 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 Already, and off to meet another exciting day. Now there is what you plan to do on a day, and what you actually do on a day. This was the type of day that the plan didn't quite work out, but, oh well had a ball anyway.

I stupidly decided that from our hotel we would walk up to see the Ladies Markets, the Fish markets and Bird Markets .... quick advise, catch a train!

Walking along Nathan Road, we stopped in and walked through Kowloon Park. It was so beautiful actually seeing a park. I'm such a tree kind of girl. When walking in, there were these two straight lines of little kindy kids, which was such a cute sight! I didn't take photos of these as I'm not sure taking photos of kids would be a real good thing in places I dont know, even though I probably look so touristy and female and all. Anyway, the park was delicious!

There is a flamingo pond, with a whole bunch of the birds just sleeping away, a couple of babies were to be seen as well. There were some caged birds as well in the garden, which i thought was interesting. It was so cute seeing some of the older ladies doing their morning stretches. You would see this randomly where ever you were.

We stumbled across a pond with all these turtles in it. We ended up spending about twenty minutes just sitting there watching the little antics of these critters, especially at the ones trying to get from the water onto the logs as at times they kept falling back into the water. We were having a relaxing day. Still kind of pinch me, I'm overseas!!!!!

Now I'm not sure that we actually made it to any of the markets we had intended to walk out to. Every so often we saw little stalls along streets and we just randomly walked through them. There were some fresh food stalls with things I had never seen before, and then we walked past the cutest shop that had all these bags of goldfish for sale. Personally would hate to have to catch and hang up these fish in their own bags each day!

I think it was in a brochure we collected at the airport or information centre that led us to a little gold find, and decided thats it, we are so eating there! A place called "Modern Toilet". Now the building it was in, wasn't the most enticing and it did kind of look a touch deserted, but the decor in it, was worth the trouble.

The theme of the restaurant was all things bathroom! The walls had urinals with coloured lights beaming out of them as decorations, there were lines of patterned toilet lids, lights were in the shape of "dumps" and it just went on .... We were lead to our table. We were seated on "cow patterned" toilet bowels, and our table was a sheet of glass over hand basins. It did get better, the meals were then served in Toilet shaped bowls and the drinks served in urinals. Ok, so it was completely out there and all, but I found it highly amusing!

My son has no idea that the safest option is always the best option and heaven only knows what he ordered, but it looked, um well.... no way I would eat that! My meal was awesome though, and for a drink I had kiwi fruit juice.

After lunch we were both exhausted and headed back to the hotel for a rest before heading over to the Jade Markets. Now the Jade markets are something my son continues to sledge me over. I had learnt to just walk around ignoring all the pesky sellers of items, however I had really wanted to buy my daughter a jade daisy necklace. Warning warning warning. The people are pushy as all hell in there! I made the mistake of going over to one counter and before I knew it, I had a necklace put around my neck and for some reason ended up walking away with three necklaces 😞 My son was laughing away and I was in a panic, I wanted out. The stupid thing was she took all my money and then was insisting I go to a local bank ATM machine which I'm surprised she didn't walk me to herself and then return to buy bracelets I didn't want as well! UGH! We ran out of the Jade markets and although I did get one Jade Daisy, ended up giving it to my niece for her birthday, and my daughter got some jade circle with an imprint of what probably says "sucker" in the middle of it!

Later that afternoon, I had planned that we would go to the Peak Lookout via the Peak Tram. There was a wax statue of Jackie Chan that my son got his photo beside advertising the Madam Tussauds. Was cute, he didn't want to stand too close because it looked "too real". The line for the Tram wasn't too bad. I had wanted to get to the top so we could get photos pre and post sundown. The trip up to the top was kind of insane. Made more insane by the fact they actually have little tram stops along the way! I guess the people that live on the side of these steep inclines need transportation, but its a bit scary just stopping at them.

On reaching the top, the view was needless to say killed by the humidity. You couldn't see very far at all. They did have a gorgeous looking building right at the top, which if you wanted to pay the price could then go stand on the top for a better lookout but chose not to. Completely embracing the fact we were in a foreign country, my son opted to have Hungry Jacks for tea?????? It has to be said though, that their Whopper burgers tasted different from the ones we get in Australia. It was a touch shocking. I guess they use local vegetables, but it was pretty bland (not saying that its usually amazing food either!).

After wandering around the sun had set and then we got a view of the city lights. Now the haze didn't completely go away, but the lights of the city shone through. Would always recommend people head up to this site for the viewing, especially of a night time. It was simply breathtaking!

Heading back down to get to the hotel, we opted for a double decker bus ride through the city. Would probably end up being one of the highlights. The weather was perfect for it. A warm night, sitting in the breeze of the bus, watching the city go past. The lights of all the shops were worth viewing as well!

We went back to the Temple Street markets, as we were full of energy and didn't want the adventure to end. Stopping past McDonalds for a snack, I took the adventure of choosing a
070707

cleaners and gardeners everywhere. they take so much pride in their city on display
green tea cheesecake slice. Um yuck, is kind of an understatement. Now I love green tea but the flavour of the cake could only be described of as dirty dish water ... not nice!

At the markets I bough some wallets for my boys at home and the most gorgeous hello kitty handbag and wallet for my daughter. Definitely felt better about that market compared to the jade markets and went home very happy 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

1212
12

this one kept slipping back in
1313
13

markets
1414
14

markets
1515
15

for some reason the look of this school depressed me
1616
16

pick a bag
1717
17

Most gorgeous fish
1818
18

Joel checking out the suroundings in Modern Toilet
1919
19

Our seats :)
2020
20

Joels meal - um not sure what was in it!
2121
21

my meal. Satay, and kiwi fruit juice


Tot: 0.32s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb