5th April, midday HKT.


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
April 5th 2006
Published: April 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bamboo scaffoldingBamboo scaffoldingBamboo scaffolding

.. hanging off a building thirty floors up. It's only the last inch that kills you I suppose.
I wake at midday, well rested and still not in synch with local time - a good job I didn’t have to work today! My shower sounds like a bow continuously drawn over a violin string, with the note decided by the temperature (I settled on a comfortably cool D-flat). There’s no need to dry my hair, since a walk around Victoria park does that quite comfortably for me, delaying the effects of heat exhaustion. A walking tour of the town towards Central takes in the sights and sounds of the city again, including the Central Escalator, an immense system of moving walkways and outdoor escalators which carry people down into town in the evening, and back up after 10:30am. A pet shop showing tabby kittens in their window caught my eye - between these and the fresh fish markets with shrimp and crabs trying to escape from their polystyrene tanks, the UK’s RSPCA would do well to relocate.

I take an ‘observation elevator’ to the 60th floor of one of the tower blocks, and the view is as rewarding as the use of bamboo scaffolds is worrying. I spend the return trip downwards pondering the safety statistics of these
Time Square, HKTime Square, HKTime Square, HK

as viewed from 37th storey
structures.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0967s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb