Ahhhh


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
July 1st 2010
Published: July 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

There is nothing more glorious than this. What is this, you ask?

In order to make my early morning flight I had to leave Guangzhou today, take a 3 and a half hour ride (including a drive-thru customs) to Hong Kong. We even drove right through my old neighborhood in SZ and I saw my school before we made it to the border. It's only been 2 weeks but it already feels like a lifetime ago. It was surreal.

So I'm forced to spend the night in this beloved city. I got in around 430 and after setting up my internet, I was out the door by 530 for the free shuttle to the metro. I wandered around, soaking in all the love HK has to offer, smiling the whole way. Hong Kong always makes me smile. In addition to watching the sun set over the skyline, and getting some of the best photos yet, my friend Indy came down from SZ to take me to dinner. We went to this little pub I know right on the water with great atmosphere and even better food and service. They tried to take my order three times (three different people) while I waited for him. It turns out he got held up a bit and was much later than expected, but he made it and our food came quickly. Luckily for me, he got full quickly, so I was able to finish his baked macaroni and cheese (with onions!) after I devoured my vegetarian lasagna. Such a rough life I lead.

So now I'm back in my hotel. No, no Chung King Mansions with their glorious views of gold jewelry and tailors. I decided to make my life easier, and help with my adjustment back to western life. I've put myself up in the airport Marriott, and will soon be enjoying a king sized bed with extra feather pillows. I've already made good use of the massive shower and aromatherapy shampoo and body wash. Currently I'm residing on my blue velvet fainting couch and watching the World Cup on my flat screen TV while my lap top is, for once, atop my lap. If only it were daytime so I could enjoy my view of the ocean and Hong Kong city in the distance.

My life is rough.

I really need to win the lottery and do this more often.

I slept until 730 am in a bed so big I couldn't reach the edges. I had more pillows than I did hours of sleep. I wanted to take the bed with me, but it didn't fit in my suitcase.

The hotel offered a buffet breakfast which I quickly took advantage of. I believe there were six stations, ranging from Asian breakfasts to cheese and fruit to waffles and pancakes with toppings. I went through twice, eating slowing each time, savoring my view. THIS is how I should have done it last year. No stress and plenty to eat.

I left my beloved hotel room around 9am since I was meeting a friend at the airport at 930. He's a friend from Shenzhen and we happened to book ourselves on the same flight. We decided to meet up and check-in together in hopes of getting seats by each other.

Upon check-in we were informed that the plane was pretty full, but she could put us one behind the other if we didn't mind being in the middle. We decided that was still better than being on opposite ends of the plane. I bid farewell to my luggage, hoping to see it on the other side.

When we boarded the plane, I was informed I was being moved over a bit to an aisle seat. Alright, well, I'm still close to my friend. My new neighbor said he'd switch if my friend was in an aisle seat and not the middle. Then my friend was moved to the aisle seat in front of me. So the switch still happened and now I was sitting next to my friend in the only two seats in our row. Since we were so far back (where the plane starts to curve, thus why there were only two seats and not three) we also had a bit more leg room for some reason. We didn't fight it.

So we sat for 12 hours, with our extra leg room, and no one else to climb over if we wanted to get out. I had requested the vegetarian meals, so I was served Indian food before anyone else got their food. My friend said next time he was going to do that. My food was delicious.... his looked scary. We watched the sun set, watched the stars, and then watched the sun rise over the horizon. We arrived in San Fran a bit early and our pilot must be a regular for this route because he gave us the grand tour of San Fran from the air. Since my friend had lived in San Fran at one point he was able to point everything out to me.

Then we landed, happy and content (though I hadn't slept, again), breezed through immigration and customs faster than ever, and then we found some clam chowder for lunch. It was the perfect meal. Then I headed back through security, bound for AZ and the oven hot temperatures of Phoenix. My parents, a nap, and Prescott not far away.




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Victoria HarborVictoria Harbor
Victoria Harbor

Monk with a cell phone. Sure, why not?
Victoria HarborVictoria Harbor
Victoria Harbor

The sun is starting to set.
Victoria HarborVictoria Harbor
Victoria Harbor

Lights are starting to come on.
View during breakfastView during breakfast
View during breakfast

My life is rough.
Are you serious?Are you serious?
Are you serious?

Decorative purposes only?
Not badNot bad
Not bad

I've been up 18 hours at this point and he even more and we just got off a 12 hour flight and finished customs. We look damn good.


14th July 2010

Lottery??
Yup, you could try to win the lottery (you have to buy tickets first, though) or...............be reallly really really nice to your parents....

Tot: 0.386s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 14; qc: 83; dbt: 0.2472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb