Sharp Peak


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
February 2nd 2007
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Rural HKRural HKRural HK

They can't resist urbanisation in HK!
On Day 3, (having spent two hours searching for a map) I made my way well out of the city to Sai Kung Country Park in the NE. I walked a short section of the 100km MacLehose Trail. In HK, I don't think they can resist urbanisation as although it is a trail through beautiful scenery miles from anywhere, the trail is tarmaced and has proper street lights part of the way. I only realised why this was when I passed through some tiny fishing villages and realised that this 1m wide path was in fact the only "road" to them.

On the way, I took a detour up Sharp Peak - which is an impressive shaped hill. There's first a sign tempting you to climb it - saying it's the dream of many to climb etc - and then once you've decided to give it a go, there's another sign 2 yards on saying it's dangerous and you're advised not to go on and if you do you should be in a group and other advice. In fact it's a superb but easy walk up a slightly loose path with amazing views. [I've some great photos but this computer
Sharp PeakSharp PeakSharp Peak

A slightly contrived (self-timer) photo of me and Sharp Peak with the camera colour settings not quite right.
won't let me load them up for you.]

The walk ends by walking across some idyllic beaches, through a village over a few hills to the end of the nearest road to catch the Sai Wah village bus (which is a full 45 mins walk from the village).

This was an amazing day!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

View from Sharp PeakView from Sharp Peak
View from Sharp Peak

Me and the specatular view from Hong Kong's Sharp Peak.
A Paradise BeachA Paradise Beach
A Paradise Beach

One of many "paradise" beaches I saw on this section of the MacLeheuse trail.


28th February 2007

Good on you, find Sharp Peak. Thank you for reveal the country side of Hong Kong to others.

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb