Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
November 29th 2006
Published: December 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

From Yangshou the 14hr bus journey to the borders of Hong Kong wasn't the most enjoyable, but I did it and walked across the border to Hong Kong having to show my Passport and do the normal customs stuff, China/HK is "one country, two regimes" - Reminded me a bit of my trips over to Cornwall across the Torpoint Bridge.


Stayed with Norf and Jen, mates from Greenwich University, who were perfect hosts for the 5 days of my stay in HK.

Weather was really mild, and was really nice to go out for a meal in just a tight white T-shirt again.

As this was my 2nd visit to Hong Kong (stayed with Stuzer 6 years prior on the way to Oz), there were a couple of sites I didn't re-visit such as Stanley Market and the Peak.

I took in the sights of Hong Kong Skyline again, which is quite fantastic (even saw a neon Prudential sign -sent shivers down my spine), staying there to watch them in the dusk which is pretty amazing when all the buildings light up.

Saw Xmas decorations, which was crazy as after 4 weeks in China, I'd seen nothing about Xmas at all - How many shopping days left for you guys?

Again as six years previous I went on two heavy 10hr drinking sessions which lasted to well into the early hours. First night Norf and I went to one of his motor bike racing mates house parties. With the promise of leather glad Chinese beauties, we went, got there and there was two Canadian guys and a fat Ozzy girl (isn't it always the way!!) Anyway we went out after, met up with Jen and her friends and had a really good night.

Jern and I both suffered the next morning, but Norf and I went out to watch the Cricket (2nd test, we were actually doing quite well, did we win!!). Night after went out again, and we met up with Stuzer, he told stories of all the beauties he has met in HK, and he proved it that night again, what a stunner!!

Just as in Tokyo I missed Disney World again, maybe in Florida?..

Hong Kong was a fusion of East meets West (copied that from a tour book), and I for one would love to go back there. Any jobs going???????


Next stop Thailand.









Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Stuzer gets luckyStuzer gets lucky
Stuzer gets lucky

How did he pull you I asked the young fair maiden, "Paper-Stone-Scissors" she replies
Norf looking out of his lounge viewNorf looking out of his lounge view
Norf looking out of his lounge view

Norf looking out of his lounge view. Beats parked cars. Big Thankyou to Norf and Jen who put me up in HK and looked after me so well. In your honour, I hearby name your apartment "Scenic Heights".


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb