Happy in Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
May 31st 2005
Published: June 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I made it to Hong Kong and awaited the arrival of my first traveling partner from home....Joe Cov. We were only in Hong Kong for a quick night and left the next afternoon for Beijing. I will be back in Hong Kong later this month and will explore it then. It was a bit cloudy and thus my photos are a bit grey.

We did manage to venture up to The Peak which overlooks the Harbor. You cant help but be amazed at the tremendous buildings in Hong Kong (even though I hail from NYC). To get to the peak, we took a double-decker bus and sat on top of the driver. He must have forgotten it was a huge bus as he drove like a formula one driver. While I usually like fast driving, I was a bit shaken as we meandered up (and then down) the huge mountain on tight roads with lots of twists!

At the top, Joe and I decided to hoof it around the loop which is a path through the trees and dense forest providing great views along the way. We met a young girl who worked for the govt conducting a census. I borrowed her hard hat for a photo.

Thats it for now....off to mainland China.

L-


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

I meet another around the world backpackerI meet another around the world backpacker
I meet another around the world backpacker

This young lady from Norway was heading through HK to Austrailia. Like many have done for me, I provided her with some tips on the land down under.


Tot: 0.415s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 37; qc: 168; dbt: 0.2513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb