School Picnic!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Sai Kung
November 20th 2007
Published: November 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

PlaygroundPlaygroundPlayground

Some of the kids in the playground before the picnic
Tuesday was the day I finally got to showcase my lovely new tailored school tracksuit! Not too much to get excited about... it is white, purple and black and reminds me slightly of the 80's shell-suit trend!

Anyhow, the school picnic - the whole school (over 1000 children) and some parents and the teachers boarded coaches and went to Sai Kung Country park where we spent the day relaxing and having a picnic, playing with the children, chatting to some parents etc etc. Played a bit of football with some of them too, but it was really hot so not for long! Some of the parents asked us to join them for their picnic which was nice, and we chatted to the other teachers. It was a really nice, relaxed day because often the teachers are so busy you don't get to talk to them properly.

I was playing Chinese snooker with one boy, and did a lot of mingling really. It was a really lovely day, nice and sunny in the countryside. I really enjoyed it. All the children like it too, there are so many activities for them to do all day, and they can just run
Sai Kung Country ParkSai Kung Country ParkSai Kung Country Park

Gathering before the whole school dispersed across the park!
around all day doing whatever they want!
It was an easy day's work for me, I had a great time!

Then in the evening, I went into Central for a "drum jam". Once a month at the Fringe club, there is a free event that you can go along to and you sit down with an African drum, and as a group everyone drums away, and the lady who leads it will sing out a rhythm, or speed everyone up/make them louder, and you just go along with it and drum away! It was really good fun, and with at least 50-70 drums going, it was a pretty cool sound, and something quite unique I'd never done before.

Definitely a good day!

I've also added in some pictures of a nice walk I did at the weekend in the East New Territories.

As I write this, I am tucking in to a dragon fruit...I went to the market today and got 9 pears, and 3 dragon fruit for $23! Thats something like £1.50 i think?! Never eaten so many dragon fruit, I'm sure they are fairly expensive at home. Just thought I'd share my bargain purchase!
Ben, Jake, Me and KathyBen, Jake, Me and KathyBen, Jake, Me and Kathy

The Native-English team at LMC
hehe! x


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Football...or soccerFootball...or soccer
Football...or soccer

Ben is playing football, Jake is playing soccer.
Hugo!!!!!!Hugo!!!!!!
Hugo!!!!!!

Love it
P6P6
P6

Some P6 students, a couple of teachers and I.
THE tracksuit!THE tracksuit!
THE tracksuit!

Kathy, Jake, Me
More tracksuit!More tracksuit!
More tracksuit!

Ben, Me, Jake
Drum Jam!Drum Jam!
Drum Jam!

African Drum
Drum JamDrum Jam
Drum Jam

Drumming so fast its a blur!


22nd November 2007

funtime
Hi Jen all sounds like great fun. Didn't you really like the shell suits - or was that someone else being fashionable at the time. It doesn't look too bad, especially if you were given it! I love the drums - where can we get some - I know 30 guides and 24 brownies who would love to have a go, and now we have a teacher too!! Christine xx
25th November 2007

Looking hot Jen!
Love the tracksuit!!! xxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.451s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 29; qc: 135; dbt: 0.1732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb