medical clearance granted!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
November 13th 2005
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Getting through paperwork



I've been waiting for the U.S. State Department to grant my medical clearance for my Fulbright project in Hong Kong for several weeks now. Because I'm blind, the doctor required more medical documentation than is typically required of other grantees. My general practitioner wrote a letter detailing the kinds of supports I need to function independently in daily life. My coordinator for disability services at my university suggested language for the general practitioner's letter. Then, I had to sign a release that would allow the letter to be sent to the state department. The State Department physician even contacted the US Consulate in Hong Kong to ask them questions about me. (What these question were, I do not know.) I'm reminded of the days in K-12 school when IEP meetings were had about me, but I wasn't asked to join them. Anyway, I've finally been cleared to go to Hong Kong.

Making Connections for independence



So, my task come Monday is to contact the Hong Kong Society for the Blind to try to arrange Orientation and Mobility training upon my arrival in Hong Kong. I'm going to ship several long, white canes to Hong Kong so that I'll have backups in case my current one breaks.

Speaking of mobility, I've had several offers from dog lovers to watch my guide dog while I'm gone. I'll see how things go with my dad and step-mom. But, it's comforting to know that Jill has many people who love her enough to offer to dog sit for ten months while I'm gone.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb