preparations for trip


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
November 1st 2005
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Getting Accepted to FulBright



I applied for a Fulbright grant to conduct my dissertation research for a Ph.D. in special education in September of last year. On August 19th of 2005 I was notified that I received the funding! Ever since then I've begun planning for my trip.

Details,Details



Since I'm blind, I've had to think about arranging even more details than the average person. I've decided not to take my Seeing Eye dog, Jill, with me. In her middle age she's getting a little growly. I'm concerned about the impression she'd make in Hong Kong if she growled or barked at people. So, my dad and step-mom will lovingly care for her when I'm gone.

I'll go back to using the white cane to get around in Asia. But, I've heard that blind people rarely cross the street by themselves in Asia; I intend to follow their lead.

I've already decided to carry my adapted laptop, my scanner, my adapted PDA, my GPS, and my portable audio devices with me in my carry on. I will purchase a braille embosser (printer) in the U.S. and have it shipped to Hong Kong.

I've begun learning Mandarin braille from some delightful Chinese students of the Hadley School for the Blind in China to whom I teach English in a voice-over IP chat room. I understand that Cantonese braille is different than Mandarin braille. But, I thought this would at least get me started.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb