The Giant Buddha


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
February 11th 2007
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We had this planned for awhile. Going to see the Great Buddha and riding the skyrail. When we woke up, it had been really foggy. We weren't sure it we would be able to see anything in the mountains, but Sarah and I went anyway. When I came up to the podium to buy my ticket for the cable car, I asked how long the hike on the way back down took. The girl laughed(as if that was an absurd question) then said 2 1/2 hours. Once we got to the top, we ate lunch then walked to the Giant Buddha to take a peak. After that, we took a walk around Wisdom Path, then Sarah decided to walk to the top of Lantau Peak and back down the other side. Not thinking correctly, I said 'ok,' while wearing flip flops. The wildlife was gorgeous, but the stair climbing was not. We walked for two hours up steep, uneven rocks nonstop. Because it was foggy, we kept believing the top was near. Once we got their, it was all downhill for the next hour and a half. Once we go to the bottom, I was the happiest I had ever been. Don't get me wrong though. I'm glad I did it, I just wish I was more prepared.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



11th February 2007

Buddha and Wisdom Garden
Hey Katie, Walking for 2.5 hours to see Buddha sounds like a great adventure - only next time wear your sturdy shoes! I'll bet he was awesome up close and personal. Do you feel much wiser now that you toured "Wisdom Garden"? I'll bet you do! Continue to see all you can on this great adventure. The stories will make great memories! I love you and look forward to reading your next blog entry! Love, A. Mary

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb