It's nearly Christmas!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
December 10th 2016
Published: July 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Two weeks until Christmas Eve!

Val and I had plans to spend the weekend in Hong Kong. The company we work for was throwing a Christmas Party on Friday the 23rd and we needed a dress.

Our plan was to go to Disney on the Saturday as the Christmas decorations were up and I'd never seen Disney at Christmas. Then spend Sunday dress shopping.

So the Saturday comes around and we leave later than we planned but that's ok. We get to Disney around lunch time so we still have a while. We look through the shops, secretly buying each other Christmas presents. We go on a few rides, one we didn't have time to do on my birthday weekend so now we had completed all of the rides.I met Pooh Bear and Eyeore. Pooh Bear is one of my favorite Disney characters, I was so happy. We had what I can only describe as a couple's photo shoot outside the castle. The night parade was different to the one we saw at Halloween so we stayed and watched that before going to our pre-booked accommodation.

We are nearly there when I receive an email saying we had missed our check in time and our room was gone. We would have received it earlier but Chinese SIM cards don't work in HK so the only internet we were getting was Wi-Fi. So we decide to try a few other places. We found one on line and booked the last room. We walked for miles to the hotel to be told we hadn't booked the room and they had sent an email, which we hadn't got! It was getting late and we were tired so we decided to go home and come back again next Saturday to buy a dress. We got home around 2am, I walked in to my room to find Laura in my bed so I spent the night on the sofa.

One week until Christmas Eve which meant less than a week until the party!

Off Val and I go to Hong Kong again. We knew where there was a shopping centre with decent shops so that's our first stop. We looked around but nothing really catches our eye so we decide to stop for lunch, Val has a few glasses of wine and gets a little tipsy.

Not surprisingly I find a dress and Val doesn't.

Disney and Hong Kong city both had wonderful Christmas decorations up, it really got us in the mood for Christmas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb